The Reread

Ever since I read Abby (the) Librarian’s post about The Reread, I’ve been pondering my own rereading.  I used to reread books all the time when I was younger.  Once a year I’d reread The Westing Game.

This is the same cover as my heavily dog-eared, well-loved, small paperback copy.

But unfortunately, somewhere along the way I got busy, and I haven’t read it in several years.  Although I did listen to part of it a few months ago.  Still awesome!  I’ve read some of my other favorites lots of times, but it’s been years since I’ve reread those as well.  Every time a new Harry Potter book came out, I’d reread the previous ones.  When Deathly Hallows was released, it was a challenge to finish the first six in time, especially since I hadn’t left myself enough time…but I did it!  (Still really proud of how quickly I got through #6 – until I think about how quickly I read #7.)

The last book I reread was The Hunger Games before Catching Fire was released.  I had remembered how quickly I read it the first time, so I thought a reread was good to catch more stuff, but holy crap, I devoured it just as quickly the second time!  *Sigh* What a good book.

I’m still in my book rut.  I’m currently working my way through Incarceron (STILL, though mostly now because I usually just read it at lunch at work) and 13 Little Blue Envelopes (which I’m not loving, mostly because of the aunt).  So instead of trying to continue with those, I thought I’d take a break and pick up an old favorite.  I’m going with The Witch of Blackbird Pond.  I feel bad avoiding my HUGE stack of more current, unread books to read, but maybe just reading a portion of this great book will help.

– Jill

2 Responses to “The Reread”


  1. 1 Amber April 17, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    Yes, good call on posting that Abby–I have been thinking about it, too! It seems like the only books I’ve gotten all the way through have been audiobooks lately–mostly because I suddenly have a bad habit of reading like five books at once and then giving up on all of them (despite how good they are–yes I have stopped reading even books I liked!). I blame college for these wackadoo reading practices…

    My favorite books to reread? Harry Potter, Roald Dahl and I Capture the Castle of course!

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 18, 2010 at 11:50 am

    I have started rewarding myself with a reread whenever I finish a whole bunch of books. So if I get through 10 other books, then I can reread one of my favorites. Pretty soon here I am going to dive into Harry Potter and Twilight again.


Leave a Reply

