Mini Book Review: Life of Glass

Life of Glass by Jillian Cantor

I have read of lot of YA books lately that have just been blah.  But this one really stood out above the rest because it is so fantastic!

The book is about Melissa who is just ready to start her freshman year of high school.  Her father passed away a few years before, and she is still trying to deal with that.  She’s got an older sister who ignores her, a mom who prefers the older sister, and a guy best friend with asthma.  Then when she gets to high school everything literally changes.  Her best friend falls for the new girl, her mom starts dating, and Melissa does not know how to deal.

Now I know that this all sounds very typical of every other YA novel out there, but trust me, this one is a keeper.  I loved Melissa’s character!  She is put in a lot of “standard YA novel situations,” but she doesn’t always do the predictable thing, she acts in a believable manner.  The people around all start acting in weird ways, but she stays true to herself.

I also really loved her friendship with Ryan.  It is well developed at the beginning, so that when things start to fall apart and he kind of acts like a jerk, you know he is a good guy underneath.

Throughout all of these events, Melissa spends a lot of time looking through her dad’s notes for a book he was writing about love.  There are several short passages from those notes that describe how certain members of her family met and fell in love that I really enjoyed.  The reviews made it sound like this was a HUGE part of the book, but it is really more in the background of everything that is happening to Melissa.

So, I don’t think I did a great job of describing how wonderful this book is (sometimes when I like something so much I can’t really put it into words).  But I did recommend it to one of the volunteers at the library who happens to be a grandma and she loved it too!  So it is a multi-generational book!

Jen

P.S.  I really, really love the cover.  That’s why I picked it up!

P.P.S.  I keep wanting to call this House of Glass, but then I remember that is a crappy movie with Leelee Sobieski.

0 Responses to “Mini Book Review: Life of Glass”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

