My Real Favorite Movies #5

I LOVE Disney movies!  And I think I mentioned before that I do love all of the real Disney classics like the Princess movies (Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and the Beast, Cinderella, etc.) but one of my real favorites that I watch over and over again is The Great Mouse Detective (sometimes called The Adventures of the Great Mouse Detective).

Aren't these old school movie posters great??

This movie is often forgotten because it came out a few years before The Little Mermaid came on the scene and blew everyone away.  I ADORE this movie!!!!  I remember seeing it in the theater when I was very small when I was visiting my cousins in New Jersey.  I specifically remember it even though I was only five because I forced my cousin to call the movie theater to ask if a My Little Pony movie was playing (man, I was a stubborn child).  Of course, there was not, so we went to see this instead.  I was terrified during the entire movie.

It is actually really different from most Disney films.  It is very dark, very dry, and very British.  No wonder it did not do very well.  I really don’t think it is a kid’s movie at all.  It is based on the Sherlock Holmes stories, with Basil of Baker Street as the best mouse detective in London.  Basil is an absolute perfect interpretation of Sherlock.  He is cold, calculating, and just plain rude most of the time.  But that is because his mind is always focused on the case!

Here is the first scene of Basil in the movie.  Pitch-perfect imitation of Mr. Holmes.

The plot of the movie is pretty basic.  Toy maker gets kidnapped by evil genius rat Professor Ratigan in order to take over Mousedom.  The toy maker’s daughter asks Basil for help.  Along the way there are lots of mishaps and capers and Basil and friends save the day.

This movie is just so awesome!  I adore little Olivia.  She is so cute!!!  Most little kid characters in movies (especially animated movies) annoy me, but Olivia is too cute!  I also really love just how British everything is.  I mean the final battle takes place on Big Ben for goodness sakes!

Now, most of you probably have never seen this movie.  Well, you are in luck because it had disappeared for a long while, but it comes out on DVD today!!!!  That means you can Netflix it or buy it or check it out from your library!  But do it fast because I wouldn’t be surprised if it was only out for a short while.  It is not important enough to get the Platinum treatment, just some ridiculous nonsense “Mystery in the Mist Edition.”  Ugh.  Oh well, I am buying it because my old VHS tape is worn out.

To end with, I present one of the best things I have ever seen.  While trying to find a trailer for the movie, I came across this brilliant mash-up of The Great Mouse Detective and the new Sherlock Holmes movie.  Enjoy, because it will knock your socks off.

Jen

P.S.  Also, you should go to the IMDB trivia page after seeing the movie because there are so many cool tidbits about little inside Sherlock Holmes things in the movie.

2 Responses to “My Real Favorite Movies #5”


  1. 1 Amber April 13, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    YES YES YES this was totally one of my favorites, too! Oh I need to buy a DVD of it… because that would be easier than hooking up my VHS player…of which I don’t even know where that is…Hmmmm but I must hook up that DVD player someday bc I doubt I’ll be able to find a copy of NSYNC N the Mix on dvd…

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 14, 2010 at 8:18 am

    Oh wow, N the Mix…..I totally had that too. I’m not sure if I still do or not….


Leave a Reply

