Good Book to Movie Adaptations #2

Hooray, I have another awesome book turned even awesomer movie to describe!  Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery.  The book came in at #9 on Elizabeth Bird’s investigation of the Top 100 Children’s Novels.  Why?  Because it’s awesome!  Ok, sorry that’s not a very good description, but really, if you haven’t read this book, you haven’t met one of the greatest literary characters of all time.  Especially girls who love spunky characters like Judy Moody, Allie Finkle, Ivy & Bean, Clementine, etc. NEED to meet Anne (with an e!) Shirley.  She’s funny, sweet, kind, adventurous, and it won’t take much for you to become kindred spirits.

Read me!

When I was younger, I remember reading Anne of Green Gables.  Then I went on to read Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, and several more.  I don’t remember when I stopped – somewhere around the place where other characters start to become more involved.  I just didn’t care about the other characters.  They can’t compare to Anne.

The books have been turned into several movies and tv shows, including Jen’s beloved Road to Avonlea, which I still need to watch.  The absolute best, in the opinion of someone who’s never seen any others, are the three made-for-tv movies adapted by Kevin Sullivan and starring Megan Follows as Anne.

the best Anne Shirley

These three lengthy (two are 4 hours and the third is 3) movies are AMAZING.  Anne is awesome, Gilbert is *sigh* oh Gilbert, and everyone else is fabulous.  The story really comes to life.  The first one, Anne of Green Gables, was released in 1985.  The second, Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel, was released in 1987.  The third, Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, was released in 2000.  That one isn’t based on any of the novels, but I love it anyway.  Especially because Anne and Gilbert are the same fabulous actors that returned.  Anytime I happen to catch one of these on PBS, I will instantly start watching it again…and then 3 hours later will get back to whatever I was doing.  🙂

Here’s a trailer of the first film.  Apologies for not finding a better quality or a video with more Gilbert.  There are a lot of terrible videos on youtube with Anne and Gilbert scenes set to modern love songs.  I’ll try to find a better one later.

Has anyone seen any of these movies?  What did you think?

– Jill

4 Responses to “Good Book to Movie Adaptations #2”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 12, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    I am reading Anne of Green Gables for the first time right now! I am about 1/3 of the way through and I love it! I remember watching the first Anne movie over and over as a kid. Whenever I think about it, I always see Matthew collapsing in the field. *Sniffle* It is the first and most powerful image that pops into my head.

  2. 2 Diana April 12, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    I’ve never read the book, but I LOVED the TV movie. I don’t remember if I’ve seen all three, but the first one, when Anne goes to live with Marilla and Matthew, was one of my favorite things to watch growing up. I remember watching it on PBS and was just charmed by the spunky girl with red hair. Loved the scene where Anne broke her chalk board over Gilbert’s head. I also loved that her bosom friend’s name was Diana, same as me. 🙂 Talking about this makes me want to buy the DVDs.

  3. 3 Ella June 21, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/dollsandbunnies
    Hello,
    You might want to have a look at my Etsy store. There is a lovely Anne doll for sale!
    Enjoy!
    Ella

  4. 4 bobby joe November 2, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    this website is just so cool i love anne of geen gables she is my idol i wish i could meet she i loved it when she jumped off the building it scaed me then i was so happy and she keeps falling in love o how wondeful i wonde if she will eve actually may someone and have kids
    -the Biggest Anne of Geen Gables Fan Eve,
    Ms. Bobby Joe (and yes i am a teache)
    chow enjoy bye love ya see ya


Leave a Reply

