I Think I’ve Become a Trekkie

I’ve never seen any of the Star Trek TV shows.  I never really wanted to either because it all seemed so confusing.  How do I know which one to watch first?  But ever since the 2009 movie came out last summer, I’ve been kind of interested in seeing it.  I tend to like sci-fi/action/”boy” movies anyway, but throw in director J.J. Abrams (LOST!), Chris Pine, and Zachary Quinto (who was awesome in Heroes when I watched it) and I’m there.  I got it through Netflix last week and watched it tonight.  I kind of loved it.

Watch this!

There’s way more humor than I thought!  Kirk is hilarious and Spock is really funny with his dry sense of humor.  Everyone involved in the movie is fantastic.  There are a ton of great actors.  The plot is interesting.  I’m thinking about buying this movie sometime. I’d definitely watch it again!  I may have to watch the older movies now.

Of course there were times when it reminded me of other films — Star Wars and Top Gun mostly — but still, really good.  I highly recommend it!  🙂

– Jill

8 Responses to “I Think I’ve Become a Trekkie”


  1. 1 Amber April 11, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    hahaha Jen and I were totally obnoxious when we saw this movie in Boston–lets just say that everyone in the theater left knowing how AWESOME Iowa is…

    Anyway–check out the documentaries Trekkies and Trekkies 2! so wonderful–makes me want to be one of them soooo bad! Trekkies are adorable!

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 11, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Funny story about this movie: Amber and I saw it when we were in Boston for LeakyCon. During the scene where it says Riverside, Iowa, Amber kind of let out a whoop. Then she looked around and was like, “Why isn’t anybody else excited?” And I was like, “Dude, we’re in Massachusetts.”

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 11, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    Heehee! We both posted comments at the same time!

  4. 4 Amber April 11, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    hahahaha! we are awesome!

  5. 5 ngtjill April 11, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    Haha, I love you guys. When I saw the scene where it said Iowa, I got excited and said “Whaaat??” and then laughed at myself for forgetting for a split second about Riverside, Future Home of Captain Kirk and TrekFest.

  6. 6 ngtlindsay April 12, 2010 at 12:43 am

    So I watched Fanboys, and they travel to Iowa and totally have a fight with the Trekkies! I need to see this movie too!

  7. 7 Abby April 12, 2010 at 6:42 am

    Jill, I was the same as you – I never really watched Star Trek, but I kept hearing how good the movie was, so I got it from Netflix. Well, let me just say that as soon as the credits rolled, I started the movie again and rewatched the whole thing! I’m considering becoming a Trekkie, too. Erin told me to start with The Next Generation. 🙂

  8. 8 ngtjill April 12, 2010 at 9:58 am

    I thought about rewatching it right away too, and I NEVER do that! (But I didn’t because it was bedtime.) Thanks for the tip on what to start with!


Leave a Reply

