At the Libraries

So I told you I would be posting again today to make up for missed posts!  I was going to post something else, but then I checked my email and read the latest Mental Floss newsletter.  If you’re a _floss fan, you might have noticed a couple of posts over there about libraries.  I thought this post would be appropriate to share with you all since the nerdgirls are 80% librarians.  (I say 80 because I count myself as about 5% librarian – I really like telling people what they should read)  

Not only has Mental Floss been discussing libraries, they’ve decided to have a weekly column called “At the Libraries”.  As they put it in the newsletter:

All this talk gave us an idea for a new weekly column. I’m excited to announce “At the Libraries” will be launching later this month. Miss Kathleen, a children’s librarian who moonlights as one of our researchers, will be our curator, rounding up five* fascinating things happening at libraries around the country that week. And we want you guys to leave comments under her posts plugging any cool library happenings in your necks of the woods.

So now you all know!  I expect to hear a lot about libraries in Iowa and Illinois (I’m also looking at you Abby – seriously, I’m looking in what I think is the direction of Illinois), since we all know that that’s where the most amazing librarians are located at this moment.

Just a typical dino librarian. Note the sweet book tattoo and reading glasses.

<3, lindsay

P.S.  Tuesday’s missing blog made up for!  Now Wednesday and Thursday to go!  Be prepared to learn something soon!

6 Responses to “At the Libraries”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 9, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    I am interested to learn about all the exciting things happening at libraries!

    Also, Lindsay, Abby lives in Kentucky now and works in Indiana (I know it’s confusing). She got the heck out of Illinois about the same time I did. So I think that is still looking in the same general direction for you 🙂 Maybe a little bit more to the north.

  2. 2 ngtlindsay April 9, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Good grief, what! OK, I will stop looking at Illinois, and start looking more towards Indiana. Although may it be noted that I will not look at Kentucky, only through it. Yeah, I know it makes a lot of sense.

  3. 3 ngtjill April 10, 2010 at 6:52 am

    You can still look at Illinois since that’s where I am! Just look really far – I’m waving at you. 🙂

  4. 5 ngtlindsay April 10, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    Oh dude, I’m ALWAYS looking at Illinois!

  5. 6 Amber April 10, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    OH I need to leave them a comment–DPL just had a birthday party today for their mascot Libby! (I couldn’t go bc I was in Ames for FPS) They had like 10 or so other mascots there to help her celebrate including Herky and Clifford! How cute is that?!


Leave a Reply

