Best Dance Sequence Ever!!

There are a lot of dance movies and dance tv shows around these days.  I will admit that I haven’t watched any of them.  But I am pretty sure that none of them can hold a candle to this scene from one of my favorite musicals, Seven Brides For Seven Brothers.

Whew!  Watching that scene makes me so exhausted!  I feel like I am dancing right along with them.  It is funny watching it because the whole time I am thinking, “Why would any of the girls pick those weasel-y looking guys in the boring suits, when they could pick the manly men in the bright, colorful shirts?”  I also think that maybe if they still made dresses like this, I would totally wear a dress more than once a year (I like the way all the petticoats look when the skirts twirl!!!).

If you look closely, you will notice that the gentleman in the orange shirt, a one Mr. Jeff Richards (playing Benjamin Pontipee) is always hiding in the back, or just missing from the shot completely…..that is because he was hired for his hunky good looks and famous name and couldn’t dance to save his life.

Also, little Gideon Pontiee (in the blue shirt) is my favorite character in the movie.  He is played by Russ Tamblyn who just happens to be Amber Tamblyn’s daddy.  You may know Amber from Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and Joan of Arcadia.

Jen

P.S.  Since I can’t seem to help talking about Twilight all the time, this is the movie that Bella and Edward watched in Breaking Dawn.

6 Responses to “Best Dance Sequence Ever!!”


  1. 1 Diana April 7, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    I don’t watch too many musicals and have never seen this one. Being a Twilight fan (of the movies, anyway, since I’ve never read the books), I liked your P.S. 🙂 Didn’t know that Amber Tamblyn’s father was in this musical. He was also in West Side Story. Did you ever watch the soap General Hospital when Amber was on it many years ago?

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 7, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    I was never into soaps too much, but I did get hooked on Passions. I was excited because I could start at the very beginning.

    I didn’t realize that Amber had done anything before Joan of Arcadia, but I guess everyone starts out on soaps 🙂

  3. 3 Diana April 7, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Since you like vampires, you should check out the soap Port Charles. It’s no longer on the air, but I bet there are scenes on YouTube. I never watched PC, but remember how popular their vampire storyline was. This was before Twilight came out.

  4. 4 ngtjill April 7, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    OMG, Jen, I was hooked on Passions too! Maybe I’ll do a post about that and then at least my reminiscing will be useful since it’ll be for BEDA. 🙂

  5. 5 Abby April 8, 2010 at 7:24 am

    That was awesome!!! I love the dancing on the balance beam!

  6. 6 ngtjennifer April 8, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    Ooooh, a soap that has vampires! That might be the most cheesetastically wonderful thing I’ve ever heard.


Leave a Reply

