Stormy Weather

I have always been pretty fascinated with weather for some reason.  My older sister used to tease me when I was younger and say I was going to be a meteorologist.  I guess I just find it interesting when big storms are coming.  It’s exciting.  Usually if there’s a big storm, I’m flipping between news channels to find the latest on what’s happening and running back and forth between windows to see what’s going on outside.  My old roommate would probably confirm this if you asked her.  (She would also tell you that if you need to know what the weather will be like the next day or if you should take an umbrella, you could just ask me.)

When I first moved to Iowa City almost three years ago, within the first week there was at least one big storm and the tornado sirens went off.  I quickly learned what county IC is in (Johnson) and what it looks like on a map (a backwards p).

I moved to Chicagoland in October, so I hadn’t really experienced storms here yet…until last night.  Now that I live alone, they’re not as exciting.  Now they’re a little scary.  Last night there was a HUGE storm with BUCKETS of rain, lightning, thunder, and small hail hurling itself at my window and balcony doors.  I seriously thought the glass was going to break.  I quickly closed the window blinds in case it did, scampered away from the window, left my room, pulled the door shut, and hid in the kitchen.  Apparently now I’m just a big storm weenie.

I still like rain and thunder and lightning…but hail, not so much.  At least not until I live with someone and/or I have a garage.  🙂

– Jill

3 Responses to “Stormy Weather”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 6, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    I really hate thunderstorms. There is nothing about them that I like. I hate the lightning and especially the thunder. They are okay during the day, but at night they are just completely unnecessary.

  2. 2 ngtjill April 6, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Daytime does make them better. But still there’s something about falling asleep to rain hitting the window and a little thunder. Just as long as it’s not more intense than that, I guess.

  3. 3 Diana April 7, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    I don’t mind thunderstorms if I’m indoors, but I’m not one of those adventurous people who love being outside when it’s storming. I like to be dry and comfy when the weather’s crummy. Jill, your fascination with the weather reminds me of a character from one of my favorite series. Have you ever read the Boyfriends Girlfriends series (later changed to Making Out) by Katherine Applegate? One of the main characters, Claire, is really into the weather, too. I highly recommend these books, but they’re only available used.


Leave a Reply

