Quitting Books

It’s very difficult for me to quit reading a book.  I think I used to be ok with it, but it’s so much harder now.  I’m not sure if it’s because I like to finish what I start or because I keep a book list and not finishing a book messes with how many books and pages I think I’ve read at the end of the year.  It’s like if I get halfway though a book, I feel I need to finish it since I put in the effort in the first half.

But sometimes it’s necessary.  I quit a book tonight, and I think it’s only the 2nd one in the last six months (maybe longer).  The book I quit this time is The Carbon Diaries: 2015.  I really wanted to like it.  I’d been wanting to read it for a long time, but I just couldn’t get into it.  Here’s the plot:  Because of global warming, there’s a huge storm, so England decides to become the first country to limit their citizens’ usage of carbon.  People use carbon cards (like debit cards) to keep track of their usage.  The main character is a teenage girl who is in a punk band, has a crazy family, and has to deal with the typical teenage stuff PLUS the new carbon limits.

I think part of the problem I couldn’t get into the book is that it takes place in England, it’s in diary format, and I couldn’t really relate to the main character.  Plus, it’s not really that exciting.  I mean, if you’ve read Life As We Knew It, this book is going to sound BORING.  I’m sure things pick up later and stuff gets worse, but as far as dystopian society books go, it was too slow for me.

Anybody read it?  Or have you read any other better dystopian society books that rock?  I need a can’t-put-it-down book.

2 Responses to “Quitting Books”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 5, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    I find it really really hard to stop reading books too. I usually just end up skimming until I get to the end. I know that the rule is you give it 50 pages and then you can stop, but by then I feel like I’ve wasted too much time to not at least get to the end of it so I can call it “read.”

    • 2 Abby April 6, 2010 at 6:35 am

      I put that book down, too! I agree with you – I couldn’t relate to the characters and it was going way too slowly.

      I can understand what Jen means, though – sometimes I muddle through so I can call it “read”. (Sometimes if the first half takes me long enough, I call it “read” anyway!)

      But generally I don’t have a problem putting down books if they’re not capturing my interest. Yes, I feel a twinge of regret because it feels like wasted time, but my TBR pile is just way too big for me to muddle through all of them!


Leave a Reply

