Lindsay Eats Some Wax

Guys, I ate wax today.

I wanted cheese really bad today after I woke up from my post church nap.  So I walked myself over to the grocery store (my new apartment is about a block and a half away from Harris Teeter – it’s pretty awesome) and bought some cheese.  You know those round individually wrapped cheeses?  Guess what.  There are TWO layers before the cheese.

Pictured: Innocent cheese or EVIL?

 

So now you know.  And if you ever go buy this kind of cheese and accidentally eat the wax, I cannot be blamed.  

This whole experience reminded me of candy that I used to eat as a child.  Does anybody remember those wax bottles filled with delicious colored juice/water stuff?

You totally know you're going to have to bite the wax, so you're prepared.

 

That’s kind of like what today was for me.  Except instead of finding deliciousness, I found cheese that kind of mixed with the wax and made everything stick to my teeth.  

Speaking of wax and teeth, that also reminds me of my childhood.  My cousin had braces as we were growing up, so I desperately wanted braces too.  So after we would get all the juice out of the wax bottles, I would save my bottles and then chew them up for a long time and then stick it all over my teeth.  I also remember taking paperclips and unwinding them and then sticking it in my mouth like I had a retainer.  Now that I think about it, this is probably one of the reasons my teeth suck so much now.  I really tried my hardest as a child to destroy them.  I even managed to get a nice chip in my two upper front teeth by faceplanting on a metal slide (my cousins and I had created a waterslide by sticking a hose at the top of their swingset slide and placing the wading pool underneath.  All of my cousins kept going up the slide and so of course I had to prove that I was cool enough too.  And of course I slipped – that will happen with wet metal.  I still have the chip, although it’s not as bad as I originally made it because the dentist tried to fill it in as best he could).  

So that’s all I really have for today.  Hopefully I’ll start having better posts – maybe when I get the internet at my apartment and I can start posting from there.  Although I have to say it’s not that bad since I can just walk two blocks down to Fido.  

To help you all visualize kind of where I live, I provide for you a music video by Kellie Pickler (and featuring Taylor Swift!).

So this video was shot partly on 21st Avenue (I live on 21st!).  If you watch the video, you will see shots as 1:21, 2:14, 2:24, and then 2:40.  I’m not sure about 1:21 though.  I think that’s the front of a wedding dress shop they’re walking in front of because of the yellow.  And I’m sitting across from Pangaea as I type this.  So think about 2 blocks in the other way.  Oh yeah, and that church is totally not across the street from Pangaea.  I’ll take my own pictures later.  

<3, lindsay

Just because.

3 Responses to “Lindsay Eats Some Wax”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 4, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    That would be really disappointing to be excited for fancy cheese and then have it be all waxy.

    I had braces for two painful years, but it is one of the best things I have ever done. I was pretty scary looking before I had braces.

  2. 2 Amber April 5, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Omigosh one time when I was little, I had a corndog at Bonanza and they left the plastic wrapper inside around the hotdog part!

    So when I was first reading your post, I was all “ew why would anyone want braces?” and then I was, “wait, I wanted braces, too…” but for completely different reasons–my teeth were HORRIBLE and during that magical transformation that comes at age 11 or 12 (I think Bedknobs and Broomsticks calls it the age of Not Believing) I became extremely self-conscious of them and begged for braces to cover-up/fix my teeth.

    I am currently reading Smile by Raina Telegemeir which is fantastic!

    http://www.amazon.com/Smile-Raina-Telgemeier/dp/0545132061/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_1

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 5, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    See Amber, the Bonanza incident is why everyone should be vegetarians.


Leave a Reply

