My HUGE To-Read Bookshelf

So one of the downsides to being a YA librarian is that I see all of the new books coming out and want to read them ALL.  Ha, ok, who am I kidding?  That’s not really a downside at all.  🙂

Here are the books I’m trying to read right now.

Oh so many books

I think 12 of those books are from my library.  Sorry local teens.  I’m trying to read more of the new books so I can booktalk them at the two book groups I go to once a month.  I’m not doing a great job so far.  I end up saying a lot of “This is another book that we just got.  I haven’t gotten to read it yet, but…”  At least I admit that I haven’t read them.  That’s good, right?

And yes, there are 3 Maureen Johnson books in that pile.  Because she’s going to Skype with us next month!!  I really need to read more of her books – so far I’ve only read 2.

Hmm, I’m going to try to read a lot this weekend.  Hopefully I can finish one or two of these at least!

– Jill

P.S. Has anyone read Incarceron yet?  According to the blog & journal worlds, it’s the greatest book to hit YA since The Hunger Games & Graceling/Fire.  I’m about halfway in and disagree.  So far it’s just leaving me confused.  😦

9 Responses to “My HUGE To-Read Bookshelf”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay April 2, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    Yay YA books! And you can never go wrong with MJ!
    As for Incarceron. I haven’t even heard of it yet. What’s it about? I’ll check it out and let you know what I think. If it’s up to Hunger Games caliber, I’ll probably love it. And I haven’t read Graceling yet. Haven’t been in the mood for it yet.

  2. 2 Amber April 2, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Omigosh, I know! I have like 40 books checked out now and they will all get overdue and I will have to turn them in unread and feel like WHAT HAVE I BEEN DOING WITH MY LIFE?!

    and no, I haven’t read Incarceron yet–loved the trailer and bought the book for the library right away, but I’m not sure I’ll get to it…

    Loved Graceling but have yet to read Fire…

  3. 3 ngtjill April 3, 2010 at 12:08 am

    @Lindsay – Here’s the description for Incarceron: To free herself from an upcoming arranged marriage, Claudia, the daughter of the Warden of Incarceron, a futuristic prison with a mind of its own, decides to help a young prisoner escape.

    Also Graceling was great!

    @Amber – I really liked Fire a lot too. Maybe even more than Graceling?

  4. 4 ngtlindsay April 3, 2010 at 12:18 am

    @Jill OMG, I totally did read about this like yesterday now that you gave me the description. I didn’t know how I felt about this one. The jail that runs itself? Is the young prisoner the missing prince? (We’re still talking about the same book, right?) I’m just not sure.

  5. 5 ngtlindsay April 3, 2010 at 12:19 am

    Oh man. I just checked my library. There are 9 copies and all of them are on hold or check out! Time to add my name to the list!

  6. 6 ngtjill April 3, 2010 at 12:31 am

    If the young prisoner turns out to be the prince, I’ll be a little letdown because that is SO predictable. …although I’m sure it’ll be satisfying too. Darn those books where I want everything to work out perfectly.

    You’re inspiring me to finish it so I can find out. This is good. Thanks!

  7. 7 Abby April 3, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Ohhhhh I hear ya about massive TBR piles…
    We really need another 48-Hour Book Challenge. I’m already looking forward to it. 😀

  8. 8 ngtjill April 3, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Ooh Abby, good call on the 48-hour book challenge! Is there another one coming soon?

  9. 9 ngtjennifer April 3, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    I always have like 30 books checked out at one time……and I literally do nothing but read, and I still can’t keep up with it.


Leave a Reply

