A Post About a Different Vampire Show

Happy BEDA!
Several months ago I decided to rewatch the entire series of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  It all began because I wanted to watch TWO awesome episodes, but I figured it would be better to watch them in order to get to them.  I finally hit the first one I’d wanted to see.
“Hush” Season 4, Episode 10*
*This will be spoiler-free for all of you who have yet to experience the greatness that is Buffy or if you’re Joanna who’s working her way through earlier episodes. (Right?)
The episode follows the basic formula – big bads come to Sunnydale, wreak havoc, and the Scooby Gang gears up to kick some butt.  However, the genious of this episode written and directed by Buffy creator Joss Whedon is that for about 40 minutes of the episode there are NO HUMAN VOICES. It’s a mostly quiet episode with the exception of things like fighting grunts and one computerized voice. The silence makes it unique and makes viewers (or just me) a little more uneasy.  Kind of like the movie with Audrey Hepburn I blogged about before.  (See: Post on Wait Until Dark)
Another aspect of the genious that is the Hush episode is the humor of the cast when silent. Xander, Giles, and Spike, especially, are all really great in this episode.  Of course, they’re usually great in every episode, but in this one, they’re fantastic at making gestures or being sarcastic even without speaking.
And finally, I just have to say that from what I can remember of the villains on the whole series, the big bads in this episode – “the Gentlemen” – are the scariest, creepiest villains on Buffy.

Creepy, no?

What do you think?  Have you seen this one?
– Jill
6 Responses to “A Post About a Different Vampire Show”


  1. 1 Abby April 1, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    I love that episode!!! I read an interview or something with Joss Whedon and he said that people thought Buffy was so great because of the witty dialogue, so he wanted to challenge himself and the cast to make a great episode with no (very little) spoken dialogue.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 1, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Aaaaah Hush…..one of the best episodes of television ever created. I adore the scene when Xander walks in on Spike and Anya!!! I also think the scene with Giles and the projector might be the funniest thing on any Buffy episode (Buffy’s gesture about staking, Buffy’s reaction to Giles’ drawing of her) so classic!!!!!

  3. 3 jobonga April 1, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    I just started season 3 and now I’m all excited about 4.

  4. 4 ngtlindsay April 1, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    This might be a reason for me to start watching Buffy.

  5. 5 ngtjill April 1, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    @Abby – That’s an awesome tidbit! According to Wikipedia, this episode was nominated for an Emmy!

    @Jen – I love Giles’ drawings too!

    @Jobanga – Season 3 is pretty darn good too.

    @Lindsay – Start watching Buffy now. And blog about it! 🙂

  6. 6 Diana April 5, 2010 at 1:21 am

    One of the best shows ever! I’ve loved Sarah Michelle Gellar ever since Swans Crossing. Has anyone here ever seen that teen soap? Loved it, too.


Leave a Reply

