I Need to Find a New Borders

I stopped by a Borders today.  It was possibly the worst Borders I have ever been to.  It was so bad, I actually decided in the store that I needed to blog about it.  So I wrote down reasons why it sucked so I wouldn’t forget.  Here they are.

1.  The teen section was way in the back

Ok, normally, this is probably a good thing because teens don’t like to be on display when they’re browsing for book.  And it’s kind of nice to be way back in the corner, but there was a huge gap of open space between the “Independent Reader” aka tween section and the teen section.  The gap was so big that I thought for a minute that the teen section just didn’t exist.

2. The teen section was hidden.

Besides being way in the back, far from the tween section, the teen books were also hidden behind a giant display — you know, the big cardboard stand that says things like “New Stuff” and “Borders Ink.”  When you looked behind it, you could see the shelves.  There were also things like giant structural poles in the way, close to the shelves, blocking books.  There was a woman wondering where the Alex Rider books were, but she disappeared before I could tell her that they were behind a pole.  (Too bad; I wanted to feel like Kathleen Kelly in that one scene in You’ve Got Mail. Remember it?)

3. The shelves were VERY, VERY messy

I was completely appalled.  I even reshelved a couple of books because it was bothering me, but then I realized how many books were on top of other books or were flipped around backwards, and I gave up.  At one point, I also saw a disposable camera lying on the floor.  Really?

4.  Shelving not all together

Apparently now Borders separates out Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Horror and shelves those together.  I’m not sure how I feel about that right now – interesting, yes; needed, possibly, given the recent popularity of dystopian and paranormal novels; but I have trouble knowing where the line is for pulling out genres.  Anyway, there were so many books in the Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror section that they ran out of room in the shelf…and the rest of the books were on a shelf not super-close to the others.  I had to GUESS where they were.

5. “New stuff” = Speak, Alex Rider, The House of the Scorpion

I like to stop by bookstores and see which books they have out, so I have an idea of what I should order for my library, if I haven’t ordered them already.  This Borders had those books under the display called “New Stuff”.  Um, the Alex Rider series may have a few new books published every now in then, but the series started several years ago.  And Speak and The House of the Scorpion are several years old!

The messy shelving is what bugged me the most because it looked TERRIBLE, but all together, it made me never want to go back.  I’ll drive farther to get to a better Borders.  Or maybe I’ll start visiting Barnes & Noble.

– Jill

6 Responses to “I Need to Find a New Borders”


  1. 1 Abby March 28, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Ugh. I hate Borders. It bothers me how much they subdivide things (especially… I don’t know if they still do this, but at one point in the kids’ section they had sections for “boy” books and “girl” books… ugh!). But maybe they have to do that because their sales staff don’t know anything? (At least that has been my experience…)

    I am rather picky about bookstores, though…

  2. 2 ngtjill March 28, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Oh my gosh, I’d never seen the “boy”/”girl” section but that’s awful!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer March 28, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    I go to Borders whenever I visit my family, and I get soooo confused as to where to look for books! There is like the YA section, that is all divided up into categories, then there is the independent readers which are shoved in the back by the ACT/GRE study books…….it is kind of ridiculous, but not nearly as bad as the one you went to.

  4. 4 Amber March 29, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Hahaha I love Borders! but that may be because in the Quad Cities, it is the only bookstore not in the Mall (meaning that it is not Barnes and Noble). So I’m kinda sad that the store is essentially dying…Although then I remember the HORRIBLE Harry Potter 7 release party they had and I get super steamed–the employees didn’t even dress up! And they didn’t serve Butterbeer!

    I wonder if all the unshelved books were due to all the store employees that just got laid off?

  5. 5 ngtlindsay March 29, 2010 at 11:20 am

    My Borders is actually pretty OK about having the teen and children’s and independent section close together. It’s not great, but it could be way worse.
    Plus, I totally hate the displays too – the ink crap? It’s so stupid! Like teens are going to be all, ooooh I love that cardboard chandelier! NOT!
    And I’m with you on the “new” books!! When Going Bovine was new, it was not on display – I had to dig for it! They have all these old books out that are JUST NOT NEW! And I’m so tempted to grab all the new books and put them out just for the hell of it!

  6. 6 ngtjill March 29, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    Oh Amber, I had no idea about Borders laying off a lot of employees lately. That’s probably why it was so messy. Now I blame the corporation and not the actual store or its employees.

    And Lindsay, totally agree about the cardboard chandelier. When is cardboard classy and a turn-on for teens?


Leave a Reply

