An Expansion on Crime of the Day (CotD) #1

In a previous post, Lindsay introduced the concept of Crime of the Day and explained that the new fangled hands free phones are one of them.  I agree.  I’m not adamantly opposed to them, but I too have been fooled by someone using one and not talking to me when I thought they were.  Luckily it wasn’t too embarrassing.

The thing about these phones that really bug me though is that people who have them seem to leave them in their ear ALL THE TIME.  Really?  Is that how they work?  You can’t take your phone out of your ear?  I don’t know about you, but I don’t normally leave my phone at my ear just waiting for a phone call.  Of course, I don’t normally get all that many phone calls, so it’d be really unnecessary, but STILL.

On Friday I decided to take myself out to dinner because it had been a long week.  I headed over to Applebee’s (after getting lost a few times. Boo to still not knowing my way around too well – even WITH my gps!), found a seat at the bar, and casually looked around at the other people sitting there.  Who doesn’t love people-watching?  The couple to my left was pretty interesting.  They seemed like they were on a date because they were pretty animated and loud – though that may have been all of the margaritas – but I think I saw a ring on her finger, so maybe not.  Anyway, the guy was closest to me…and he had one of those hands-free phones in his ear!!!  In a restaurant!  On a date!  (Even if it was with his wife!)  Who does that?  Take it out of your ear!

What do you guys think?  Have you seen people leaving it in their ears when they maybe shouldn’t?

– Jill

3 Responses to “An Expansion on Crime of the Day (CotD) #1”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay March 23, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Ugh, they SHOULD be banned! It just makes everybody look like an idiot! And I agree with keeping it in the ear – what’s the point? I don’t think you look super busy and important, I just think you look like an egotistical jackass.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer March 24, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    I would think they would really hurt your ear leaving them in that long…..is that just me??

  3. 3 Amber March 29, 2010 at 9:00 am

    However, sometimes the fact that they exist can be super helpful! Like when you are being haunted by your dead great-aunt and you can’t help but yell at her in public. Then when people look at you crazy, you can say “sorry, I’m on the phone” just point to your ear! See I always thought they were lame as well until reading Sophie Kinsella’s Twenties Girl…


Leave a Reply

