The Wimpy Kid Movie = Good?

I really really hate the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books.  I know that they are great because they get boys to read and they are a good gateway book to hand to any reluctant reader, but seriously……..ick.  I’ve read all four of them…..now I know you might be asking why I keep reading if I hate them so much, but I like to know what is in them because lots of younger kids read them and some parents want to know if they are appropriate for 3rd graders.  Most people (kids and fellow librarians) find these books hilarious, but the only part that has even mildly amused me is the Shel Silverstein part in Rodrick Rules (I will admit that was gut-bustingly funny).

But…

But…I think the movie looks adorable.  Usually it is the other way around.  I love the book and am horrified by what the movie has changed.  But the trailer makes me laugh every time I see it.

I might actually see this movie because first of all Steve Zahn is in it.  I would literally kiss the ground beneath Steve Zahn’s feet because he is so awesome!

Also, my main problem with all of the books is that Greg (the main kid) is a total and complete a**hole.  He treats his family, friends, and everyone in general horribly and never gets punished or learns anything from his actions (I am not saying that every book needs to come with a moral or a “very special episode” moment at the end, but come on!  Seriously no one should be able to get away with all the crap he does and not realize what a terrible person they are).  But the kid in the preview is so innocent and downtrodden looking that he could never be half as mean as the kid in the books.

Also, I totally chuckle everytime Fregly says “It’s got a hair on it!!!”  Heeheee!

And also, Steve Zahn……did I mention that?

So, what do you think?  Do you want to see the movie?

Jen

2 Responses to “The Wimpy Kid Movie = Good?”


  1. 1 Megan March 4, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Jen, I feel exactly the same way! I was shocked when I went to see the Lightning Thief and laughed out loud at the trailer. I think it might have something to do with the line drawing vs. real people. In the books I couldn’t understand some of the things Rowley would say, or why Greg was his friend if he couldn’t stand him. But the Rowley lines in the trailer just crack me up. Seeing a kid actually saying those things makes it click and doesn’t seem so ridiculous. The simple drawings don’t allow for any of the nuances in what we say, making what the characters say seem more cruel or stupid because we can’t see any underlying fear or doubt or whatever.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer March 4, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    Yeah, it is completely different seeing real kids act out scenes from the book. Everything becomes much funnier and you just can’t hate the kids because they are so adorable!!!


Leave a Reply

