The Hugo Movie Is Going To Be A REAL Movie

I heard today that Martin Scorsese is going to direct the movie adaptation of The Invention of Hugo Cabret.  Whoa.  Now I will admit that I have never seen a Martin Scorsese movie.  His movies aren’t really my thing.  If he ever did a romantic comedy, raunchy teen comedy, or a kids movie……oh wait, I guess he’s doing a kids movie now.

I am not sure what to expect out of this movie.  When I first read the book, I thought it was amazing!  I was mesmerized by the pictures and the whole atmosphere that was created just by holding the book in my hands.  It was such a unique experience to sit and read it that I couldn’t stop thinking about it afterward.  I told everybody I saw how awesome it was.

Then I listened to the audiobook.  It might seem silly to listen to an audiobook so soon after reading the book, but I was intrigued by how they would do it and what kind of sound effects they would use.  Well, one thing I realized after listening to the audiobook was…….the story is not that great.  Seriously.  Also, the whole time I was listening to it, I thought, “man, did they add a bunch of words or something…..this book is so long…….and frankly, somewhat boring.”

I think the ONLY reason why that book is great is the format and the illustrations.  If it didn’t have that, I think it would have faded into obscurity.  So my big question is, how are they going to make the film special???  Obviously one of the ways is to hire a big time Oscar winning director.  I’m hoping that they incorporate a lot of action straight out of the book’s illustrations.  Other than that, I don’t know what to expect at all.

So, what do you guys think?  Will the movie be awesome?  Am I totally wrong about the story?  What would you like to see in the movie?

Jen

2 Responses to “The Hugo Movie Is Going To Be A REAL Movie”


  1. 1 Abby January 22, 2010 at 7:58 am

    Ohhh, I think the mistake is making it a live-action movie. Imagine how awesome it would be if Brian Selznik animated it! And I agree, the pictures are phenomenal, but the story overall is kind of boring.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer January 22, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Too true…..an animated movie would be the way to go! That would be awesome!!


Leave a Reply

