Jill’s Reading Wrap-up 2009

Inspired by/Stealing from Jen’s previous post, here’s my wrap-up of the books I read in 2009.  I started off REALLY strong since I had just graduated and was unemployed.  Basically I went to ICPL like 3 times a week and it was the greatest half a year of my life thus far…but…then real life kicked in and I started my job and the reading dropped off.  All in all, I read 204 books and 27,484 pages.  My goal was 365 books, and clearly I failed that, but there’s always 2010!

Here’s my breakdown, since I am also a math nerd:

Adult fiction – 2

Adult nonfiction – 2     (what can I say, I’m not a fan of adult books)

Picture books, fiction – 65

Picture books, nonfiction – 22

Graphic novels – 5

Juvenile, fiction – 59

Juvenile, nonfiction – 8

Young Adult, fiction – 39

Young Adult, nonfiction – 2

I also read 1 book 2 times this year, which I think is pretty unusual for me.  It was The Hunger Games.  🙂  And I “re-read” aka listened to HP6, Judy Moody 1, The Westing Game, and Ella Enchanted and actually re-read HP7.

And finally, here are the books I rated 1 out of 5 — meaning I thought they were terrible (just so we’re clear).

  • The Astonishing Truth of Octavian Nothing, Book 1 – M. T. Anderson (I know, I know, everyone else disagrees.)
  • Cinderella (As If You Didn’t Already Know the Story) – Barbara Ensor
  • Coraline (graphic novel) – Neil Gaiman (I REALLY wanted to like it, but I just thought it was uber-creepy)
  • The Death Book – Pernilla Stalfelt
  • Robot Dreams – Sarah Varon (Oh man, this book was interesting…it landed in the disturbing pile for me.)
  • Fox – Margaret Wild
  • I Am the Messenger – Markus Zusak (I think I’m like the only person who hates Zusak’s writing style.)

Now some of my favorites!  Rated 5/5

  • The Pencil – Allan Ahlberg
  • Chains – Laurie Halse Anderson
  • Holiday: A Comedy in Three Acts – Philip Barry (the play version of my FAVORITE movie!)
  • Forever Princess (Princess Diaries #10) – Meg Cabot
  • Best Friends & Drama Queens (Allie Finkle #3) – Meg Cabot
  • Graceling – Kristin Cashore
  • The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins
  • Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins
  • The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson #1) – Rick Riordan
  • The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson #5) – Rick Riordan
  • The Wednesday Wars – Gary D. Schmidt
  • I Capture the Castle – Dodie Smith
  • Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie – Jordan Sonnenblick
  • When You Reach Me – Rebecca Stead
  • Zorgamazoo – Robert Paul Weston

Here’s to reading awesome books in 2010!!

– Jill

1 Response to “Jill’s Reading Wrap-up 2009”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer January 5, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Yea Jill!! It’s always great to hear what other people like….I have heard enough now to think that I am not going to like Octavian Nothing, so I won’t try it. And Yea for Zorgamazoo!!! I feel bad that I haven’t bought that for my library yet.


Leave a Reply

