Reading Roundup 2009

2009 was a pretty crazy year for me.  I changed jobs, moved to a new town…..well, I guess that’s all I really did, but that was a pretty big deal.  During the last 12 months, while I was working, visiting friends and family, going to Boston (woohoo LeakyCon!!), ALA, and other things, I read 397 books!  (That is not including the books that I re-read or read twice during the year like all of Stephenie Meyer’s books, the Princess Diaries series and Let it Snow…..yes, feel free to judge me).

Here is the breakdown of the books, since my mind still likes to revert back to high school and think like a math nerd:

Juvenile Fiction:  129

Young Adult:  88

NonFiction Picture Books:  10

Juvenile NonFiction:  53

Graphic Novels:  29 (wow!  That is much higher than I thought it would be….must be all the Babymouse)

Beginning Chapter Books:  21

Adult Fiction:  48

Adult NonFiction:  19

So, if I only count JFiction, YA, and the two adult categories, that is really only 284 “real” books.  So the actual number isn’t that impressive.  I’m actually surprised the YA number isn’t higher, because it felt like all I did was read YA books, but apparently that is not true.  My goal each year is to read 400 books.  I consider the goal achieved for 2009 because of the books I re-read.  I’ve met that goal the last two years, and hopefully I can do it again this year.

Now, with reading so many books, there are quite a few that I feel lukewarm about…..but there are others that I find to be so completely mind-blowingly awesome that I can’t help but think about them afterwards.  Here is a list of the books I read this year that were sooooooo good that I would pick them up again right now and read them all over again (in no particular order).  Now, be warned that these are books that I LOVED, not necessarily books that are destined to win awards or anything like that…..I tend to not be a fan of many of the “best books.”  Not that I want to insult any of the books on the list either…..oh well, just read it.

Chalice by Robin McKinley

Zorgamazoo by Robert Paul Weston

Every Soul a Star by Wendy Mass

Forever Princess by Meg Cabot (I actually feel this way about the whole series, but this is the one that really stands out….especially since I’ve read it 3 times this year!)

Unwind by Neal Shusterman

Manhunt: The 12 Day Chase for Lincoln’s Killer by James L. Swanson

Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

Gregor the Overlander series by Suzanne Collins

As You Wish by Jackson Pearce

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Assassination Vacation by Sarah Vowell

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas (I keep wanting to type Crisco instead of Cristo…..teeheee)

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

The Magician’s Nephew by Kate Dicamillo

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Two is Enough: A Couple’s Guide to Living Childless by Choice by Laura S. Scott (I don’t know if I would really read this book again, but it was really fantastic and totally reinforced my choice to never have kids.)

Since I am so passionate about books that I love…….I also feel the same force of passion about books that I do NOT love.  There were several books that I read this year that made me so mad and I disliked them so much that I wanted the book to end with a fiery explosion where all of the characters died (yes, I know that is completely outrageous, but when I hate a book, I REALLY hate it).  I’m not saying these books are bad…….I know at least a couple of them are really well-liked by some of my friends……but I couldn’t stand them.

Nightmare at the Book Fair by Dan Gutman

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

Ten Cents a Dance by Christine Fletcher

The Twits by Roald Dahl  (I’ve read several of his books this year, and realized that I just don’t like his writing……sorry Amber!)

Specials by Scott Westerfeld

Bras and Broomsticks by Sarah Mlynowski

Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney (any of this series actually)

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

Diary of Pelly D by L.J. Adlington

Nerds by Michael Buckley

Well, that is my reading year in a nutshell…..it was a year where I discovered Meg Cabot, Agatha Christie, and Wendy Mass.  My goal for this year is to read more adult nonfiction and branch out and read a few more boy books.  I would also like to read more classics like Austen and Dickens…..we will see how that goes.

Happy Reading Everyone!!!

Jen

P.S.  Sorry I was too lazy to link to all the books, but I am still in vacation lazy mode.  Also too lazy to add pictures…

6 Responses to “Reading Roundup 2009”


  1. 1 Abby January 3, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    I am in awe of your number of completed books. Even counting J Nonfiction and graphic novels, I barely made it over 200 this year! And I only read a handful of adult titles!

    Brava!

  2. 2 ngtjennifer January 3, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    Well Abby, you had a really busy year too, AND you did NaNoWriMo, which should count for reading like 50 books.

  3. 3 Amber January 4, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    GGGGAAAAA, you are inspiration! (even despite not liking Roald Dahl or Gemma Doyle…)

    How do you keep track of your reading Jen? do you put them all into LibraryThing (or goodreads or shelfari or whatever, but I think LibraryThing is your favorite, right?) or do you have a diary or just a check sheet? I have always wanted to keep track of my reading but ALAS I never keep it up. My current excuse is “I’ll start really using my LibraryThing account as soon as I buy one of those cute cat scanners…”

  4. 4 Jill January 4, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Jen, you are my hero! I cannot believe you read that many books NOT including the books you re-read!!! I’m nowhere close to that but you have inspired me to do a similar post… 🙂

  5. 5 ngtjennifer January 4, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    Thanks guys!!! But as I have mentioned before….reading this many books is only possible if you don’t really have too much of a life, and I definitely qualify for that.

    Amber, I keep track using LibraryThing….it is nice because I just sorted the books by “Date Read” and I could look back over the whole year’s worth. Also I just like to look at all the pretty covers.

    Jill, you should definitely do a post too!

  6. 6 Pat December 18, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    May I also recommend for your reading pleasure the only two books by Elizabeth Marie Pope, The Sherwood Ring and The Perilous Gard. I can also recommend any and ever book by Madeline L’Engle, and a little book called Firehunter by Jim Kjelgaard. Of course, I also adore JK Rowling.


Leave a Reply

