It’s That Time of Year!

It’s the holiday season again!  (I swear this year has flown by sooooo fast!)  No matter how stressful this time of year can be, I always get happy little feelings in my heart when I see Christmas lights, hear Christmas music, or eat holiday treats.

There are certain things that I HAVE to do every year around this time, and the list keeps growing every year.  And I don’t mean things like shopping or sending out cards (which, I will admit I almost never get around to doing….the card part, that is).  Here are the things on my holiday to do list in no particular order:

1.  Watch Miracle on 34th Street.  I adore Natalie Wood with every fiber of my being and Edmund Gwenn is the best damn Santa ever captured on film (sorry Tim Allen).

2.  Read the Harry Potter books.  This tradition dates back to the 2001 holiday season.  I had just read the books (only the first 4 were out) back in October when I was in London, and I came home demanding that my sister read them too.  We had a contest over break to see who could read them the fastest (which wasn’t really fair because I had already read them recently, so I could go much faster).  My sister has a head start this year and is already on the 2nd book.  I need to get started!

3.  Listen to the Mariah Carey and *NSYNC holiday CDs.  I am not embarrassed to admit that these are the two best Christmas CDs ever.

4.  Watch Love Actually.  I actually just watched this last night and will probably have to watch it again before Christmas.  This movie………aaahhhh…….this movie is so dear to my heart.  Every time I watch it, I cry in a different place.  Last night it was when Carl said Merry Christmas to Sarah, during the whole school concert, and all of Jamie and Aurelia’s stuff at the end.

5.  Eat Butterfinger bells.  I don’t like regular Butterfingers because all the orange middle stuff gets stuck in my teeth, (ick) but the bells have the perfect consistency of chocolate and Butterfinger-y parts.

6.  Read Let it Snow.  This is a relatively recent addition to the list, but I have no doubts I will do it every year.  I am holding out as long as I can….but I am pretty sure I will read it either tomorrow or Tuesday.

So, what are the things that you have to do every December??

Jen

7 Responses to “It’s That Time of Year!”


  1. 1 ngtjill December 13, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    1. White Christmas = done! Though it’s so awesome, I may watch it again.
    2. It’s a Wonderful Life = done once. I usually average 2-3 times a season.
    3. Christmas music – Mariah Carey’s is a CLASSIC!
    4. Red & green M&Ms = bought today!
    5. Love Actually – watched once but it was the edited tv version. I bought myself the DVD today! yay!
    6. Miracle on 34th Street – I just bought myself this dvd today too, so I should watch it soon. Every year I have a debate with my younger sister about whether the old one or the new one is better. I always argue for the original.

  2. 2 ngtjill December 13, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    Just watched Miracle on 34th Street — you are totally right about Edmund Gwenn! Also, why doesn’t a lawyer like Fred Gailey live next to me?

  3. 3 ngtjennifer December 13, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Oooooh, I might have to go get some red and green M&Ms to eat with my popcorn. I am so glad you bought the DVD of Love Actually because the edited version is very inferior.

    And, yeah…..I would totally be all over Fred Gailey if he lived within 30 miles of me!!!

  4. 4 Abby December 14, 2009 at 7:46 am

    I have to watch A Muppet Christmas Carol (I have done once, but would like to do it again with friends) and bake red and green chocolate chip cookies (will probably do this weekend so I can bring them in to work next week).

  5. 5 ngtjennifer December 14, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Oh, A Muppet Christmas Carol!!! I need to get my hands on that!

  6. 6 Amber December 15, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    You also need to get your hands on a copy of the Muppet Family Christmas!!! (I have myself a bootleg copy because it is hard to find)—it might be my favorite Muppet special ever–All the Muppets and Sesame Street gang and Fraggles end up together at Fozzie’s Mom’s house for Christmas! There is this great part where they break out the home movies and you see the Muppet Babies but as actually muppets, not cartoons 🙂

    I also like to watch Home Alone, Little Women and Bridget Jones around Christmas! (although I pretty Watch Bridget Jones all the time, but it is especially lovely at Christmastime)

  7. 7 ngtjennifer December 15, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    Is the Muppet Family Christmas when they sing “We need a little Christmas?” If it is, then I love that one!

    Ah yes, Bridget Jones….how could I forget that one.


Leave a Reply

