Ahh, What a Wonderful Week for TV

This week I watched TWO fabulous fall finales of TV shows I love.

The first — Gossip Girl, “The Debarted”

OMG, what a freaking awesome episode.  I won’t spoil anything, but let me tell you my favorite things about it.

  • The storyline actually moved along!  I know, crazy, right?  It probably only happened because it was the fall finale, which I didn’t realize until I started writing this post — HUGE disappointment, but I guess I can live with it since Life Unexpected will be starting soon.  Anyway, stuff actually happened!  A lot of stuff!  There were secrets, affairs, drugs, oh snap moments, what an ass moments, wtf moments, a ghost, a flashback, a car accident, and a surprise!  Whew!
  • Chuck Bass.  Ok, so I always love Chuck Bass, but in this episode, he was amazing.  Ed Westwick is incredible in this episode.
  • Nate Archibald.  He’s awfully close to knocking Chuck off of the top of my favorite Gossip guys list.

Those are the highlights for me from what I can remember right now.  I’m thinking about watching the episode again soon.  And I rarely rewatch GG episodes.  *Sigh* I’m going to miss it until it returns in March.

The second amazing fall finale of the week — Glee, “Sectionals”

This episode also had a lot going on and really showed off how versatile it is.  Not only is it a musical comedy that dabbles in cheesy drama, but it also had REAL drama in the finale.  Here are a few of my favorite things about this episode.

  • Cory Monteith, who plays Finn, did a great job.  You totally felt for Finn.  I’m love him a little bit more every episode.
  • Emma really surprised me toward the end by doing something I didn’t think she was capable of given earlier episodes, and I was SO proud of her!  If you saw the episode, you probably know what I’m talking about.
  • So, so many wonderful quotes.  I seriously laughed out loud, rewound to watch again, and then wrote them down.  Some of the best —
    “Does it have to be tonight? I have fight club.” – Puck (hilarious for so many reasons)
    “Hey buddy, I just came in to feed my Venus flytrap.” – Sue
    “I’m sorry, Sue. You have disgraced yourself and the name of William McKinley.” “A FAILED president!” – Principal Figgins and Sue
  • Kurt and a few other Glee members performed part of the “Single Ladies” dance during “My Life Would Suck Without You”.  Very subtle and totally fabulous.

Did you watch either of these or see any other great episodes of TV shows this week?

– Jill

2 Responses to “Ahh, What a Wonderful Week for TV”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer December 13, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    I have to admit that I have missed the last 3 or 4 episodes of Glee. Maybe I gave up on it too soon, but I haven’t felt as sad about missing it as I thought I would. And I definitely feel much better knowing I don’t have to put up with the annoying parts of the show anymore.

    But I am going to check both soundtracks out of the library as soon as the 2nd one comes out. I may get annoyed at the show, but cannot deny my love of the music.

  2. 2 Amber December 15, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Yes, Glee has been very up and down since you stopped watching it, Jen! There was the best episode ever where you got to meet Sue’s sister (which no matter how mean Sue gets I cannot dislike her now because of how sweet she is with her sister), and then I got really mad because they just had to point out that Quinn’s parents were Republicans (despite being no other reference to politics elsewhere in the show) before making them out to be horrible parents. I was so annoyed, especially because the stereotypes they were using wouldn’t result in Quinn being thrown out (her parents obviously think status is important so they would either have their daughter give up the baby or celebrate the baby so they seem in control). And then they just dropped that storyline altogether and we haven’t heard anything about it since. Um, so where is Quinn living now that Finn knows he’s not the father?!

    Also, the season finale was WONDERFUL, butttttt…. I’m just not ready for Shu and Emma to be together. I feel like that came on way too suddenly and is totally doomed.

    My predictions for Gossip Girl:
    -Lily didn’t cheat on Rufus, but went to tell Serena’s dad that he is also the dad of Lily and Rufus’s supposed love-child!
    -Jenny gets more annoying.


Leave a Reply

