My REAL Favorite Movies #4

I am a huge fan of almost every Disney movie.  I adore all of the classics like Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and the Beast, and The Little Mermaid.  But the Disney animated movie that I have watched more than all the others has to be Robin Hood.  I ADORE Robin Hood.

robin_hood_disney

A lot of movie snobs (like my dad) rip on Robin Hood because it is one of Disney’s laziest movies.  There are multiple scenes that are borrowed from other movies (the animated action is exactly the same as a sequence in a previous movie) and even some that are repeated within the movie itself.  It is also just supposed to be an all around not great movie.  Even Disney seems to acknowledge it as a “lesser” film because it didn’t even get a Platinum edition treatment…..just a lame Most Wanted Edition.

But I don’t care what any of those people say, because this movie is awesome!!!  I love all of the kid characters in the movie.  The little rabbit family and their friend Toby the turtle.  The littlest girl rabbit is sooooo cute.  She has some of the best lines in the whole movie!  I love it when Robin Hood brings her brother a gift and she says, “come again…….on my birthday.”  Or when someone asks Robin Hood if he’s gonna have any kids and she says “my momma gots a lotta kids.”  Hahahaahaaaaa!  Okay, they don’t sound so funny just typed out like that, but trust me, they are hilarious.

Maid Marian

Maid Marian and Lady Cluck

I also really like Maid Marian.  She is so sweet and has the coolest outfit!  I totally want to wear her hat/veil/blanket thing that she wears all the time.  It looks like so much fun.

I also love the music in the movie (not the sappy love song in the middle though….yuck).  Roger Miller plays the rooster minstrel who tells the story and I love the songs that he sings.  I also really like the “Phony King of England” song.  It’s really different from music in other Disney movies, but I think that’s why I like it so much.

But I think the reason why I like this movie so much is because Robin Hood himself is so cool!!!  His accent is very dreamy and I would ALMOST count him as a fictional character that I would date except for the fact that a.) he is animated and b.) he is not even a human, he is a fox (and not a FOX fox, but a literal fox).  So I am not quite that creepy.  But when he is captured and all tied up and says “Marian my darling, I love you more than life itself.”  Wow…….most male characters in Disney movies have no personality whatsoever, but wow.  Here’s the video of it.  It happens at 1:15, but stick around for the fight because I love how he takes on all the prince’s cronies without breaking a sweat.

I was watching this movie again last night and I realized for the first time just how weird it really is.  First of all, I am pretty sure that I didn’t understand ANYTHING that was happening when I was a kid.  The movie is about outlaws, and taxes, and English history……..um yeah, I didn’t get any of that.  Also, it is really one of the only Disney movies that I can think of where animals walk around dressed as humans (this happens in The Great Mouse Detective, but mostly just mice).  (Monica from Friends would really hate this movie!!)  They are all wearing clothes, but most of them are just wearing shirts and no pants.  hmmmmmmmm.  And not just one type of animal…….there are elephants, foxes, lions, snakes, chickens, turtles, alligators, and dogs all hanging out together.  This is one very strange movie.

But I love it!!!  I can’t imagine that any of you haven’t seen this yet, but if you haven’t I would highly recommend checking this out because it is funny, cute, and highly suspenseful (at the end, is he alive? is he dead?????).

Jen

P.S.  Here is a cool video that shows how much Disney recycled action to make the dance sequence.  Some of the people in the comments on YouTube are really mad about it, but I think it is interesting to see.

 

3 Responses to “My REAL Favorite Movies #4”


  1. 1 Jill November 11, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Oh my gosh, I had NO idea about the recycling animation! That is so disappointing. I was never a big fan of Robin Hood, but it has been awhile since I’ve seen it. I think I don’t really like the Disney movies with animals as main characters. I just discovered that. All my favorites – Sleeping Beauty, The Little Mermaid, Cinderella, Snow White, etc – have people in main roles. I’ll have to give Robin Hood another shot soon though.

  2. 2 ngtlindsay November 11, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    OMG I totally love Robin Hood! This was my favorite movie back in elementary school. I remember being so upset in second grade because I wanted to be Maid Marian for Halloween and my mom made me be a genie because we had the costume for that. Grrrrr!!!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer November 11, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Jill, I am not usually a fan of the animal ones either, but mainly because they are super sad……luckily Robin Hood is not.

    And Lindsay, that would have been awesome to be Maid Marian…..maybe I will be her next year.


Leave a Reply

