ngtjill: Book Review #2

I’ve been MIA for awhile because in the last month I’ve moved & started a job, but I’ve finished three more books on my list.  Yay!

beauty

I finished A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray just in time for the 6th annual Anderson’s Bookshop YA Lit Conference.   Like, literally, just in time.  I finished the last few pages the night before.  I didn’t get a chance to write about the conference earlier, and I’m feeling very lazy now, so I’ll just direct you to read Abby (the) Librarian’s write-up.  🙂  Anyway, back to the book.  I didn’t love it (sorry, Amber).  I’m not sure I’ll get to the next two books anytime soon, but hopefully I will eventually since I own the 3rd one.  As I was reading it, I kept picturing it as a Lifetime or ABC Family movie.  It reminded me a TV movie I stumbled upon once called The Initiation of Sarah – a supernatural sorority movie with Joanna Garcia.  Even though I didn’t love the book, I still give it a solid 3/5.

gonethe dead & the gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer
I didn’t think this one was as good as Life As We Knew It, but it was really interesting to see the “moon disaster” in a different setting, this time in New York City.  At first life isn’t as abnormal as it is in the first book, but after awhile, Alex has to figure out how to take care of his two younger sisters in a city that’s falling apart.  I think I liked Life As We Knew It better because the plot was unique.  This is essentially the same plot in a different setting, and this time, I felt like the dialogue was flat & Alex wasn’t as believable as a character.  But I’ll still be reading the third book when it comes out next year – especially since I think it’s supposed to unite the characters from both books somehow.

lastThe Last Olympian (Percy Jackson series #5) by Rick Riordan
Ok, I won’t gush too much about this one because Lindsay already did.  And I completely agree with it.  It was fabulous!  This whole series was SO good!  I’m really sad there’s only 5 & now I’m done.  I may have to start over soon because one of my co-workers is currently listening to The Lightning Thief audiobook & she said it’s great.  Seriously – if you haven’t read this series yet, go do it!  It’s all-around awesome — captivating plotlines, interesting & believable characters, adventure/action, male main character!, and secret learning!  I never knew much about Greek mythology, but now I am so interested in it AND I already know some things just from the series!  *sigh*  Now I need another fabulous series to fall in love with…

– Jill

5 Responses to “ngtjill: Book Review #2”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer November 8, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Jill, I just found out that Rick Riordan is doing a new series that I think comes out in the spring. It is about Egyptian mythology instead of Greek mythology! Yippee!! And yeah, I really didn’t like A Great and Terrible Beauty either. Which sucks because Libba Bray is so awesome!!!

  2. 2 ngtjill November 8, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    What?? That is AWESOME news about Rick Riordan! I’m so excited!

  3. 3 ngtlindsay November 9, 2009 at 11:35 am

    I don’t know why you guys didn’t like A Great and Terrible Beauty. I couldn’t put it down!
    I haven’t read the second book by Pfeffer. I liked the first one so much but didn’t really get hooked by the second one’s description.
    And yay, Rick Riordan!! Did you know that the 6th book in the 39 clues series is out! Yes!!

  4. 4 ngtjennifer November 9, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Yes! I should be able to take the 6th book home with me tomorrow because it will be all processed. I think that all ten books in the series should be out by the end of next year……I think.


  1. 1 New Book Challenge! « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on November 8, 2009 at 4:41 pm

Leave a Reply

