An Open Message To Glee

Dear Glee,

First off, let me say that you are the only new fall show that I am still watching (I tried Community, but I found that I couldn’t handle Joel McHale outside of The Soup….he was too much of an ass).  I had such high hopes for you!!!  Everything about your premise seems to appeal directly to me (high school!  music!  outcasts!) and I was mesmerized and blinded by the shiny glare of your first few episodes.  I was also caught up in all the hype and love pouring out of everywhere (Twitterlove!  Entertainment Weekly cover stories!  Fantastic Reception With the Critics!) that it took me awhile to look beyond that and see you for what you really are.  And, as painful as this is to admit, what I finally see is something that I don’t really like.

Kurt, being awesome as usual

Kurt, being awesome as usual

Now, before you get all upset, let me mention the things I LOVE about you.  I ADORE every time there is singing.  From the big production numbers down to the individual solo moments (HELLO Puck singing “Sweet Caroline”!!!!  My heart melted a little seeing him with that guitar) I love them all.  I also love Kurt.  Anything and everything he does is awesome.  I am also fond of Artie and Mercedes.  Jane Lynch is of course phenomenal, but that is to be expected.  Hmmm……..and that’s it.  When I think about the fact that most of the musical numbers are released online before the episodes air and my favorite characters only get five minutes of screen time an episode, this does not bode well.

Now I will go into the things that I am not so fond of.  Hopefully I will not come across as too mean, since I don’t want to hurt your feelings.

I cannot handle the pregnancy storylines!!!!!  Just the fact that I had to make that statement plural proves how ridiculous it is.  Oh wait, but one of them is fake, so it isn’t really that crazy (hopefully the sarcasm is registering here).  I despise Will’s wife.  She and her sister need to just leave the show.  They don’t even need to explain it, they could just disappear and I would be okay with that.  I am not a fan of Quinn or Finn as characters, so their whole part in the storyline is totally boring to me.  I was hoping when Quinn first announced she was pregnant that it was some kind of evil trick to make Finn pay attention to her and ignore Rachel, but alas, I was mistaken.  So, take note……both of these storylines are ridiculous and uninteresting.

Will

This picture is almost too perfect

I really don’t like Will……….or Emma………at all.  One of the blogs I read labeled them as the “Next Jim and Pam.”  Whoa Whoa Whoa!  I may have broken up with The Office a long time ago, but even I still hold that title sacred.  I dislike Will more and more with each episode of the show.  First of all, his wife is so heinous that it actually reflects badly on him.  What kind of a person is he to be with her for so long and not know how awful she is?  Also, he has to be the worst, most unobservant husband in the world if he hasn’t figured out that she is totally faking her pregnancy.

He is also really cruel to Emma.  He knows that she totally wants him and he leads her on.  I hate guys like that……feeding their own ego at the expense of someone else.  Also, ummmm…….he treats the Glee kids like crap.  I kind of wonder why they are even still talking to them.  He got their hopes up and abandoned them in the first episode, them he abandoned them again for his own selfish reason (Acafellas anyone?), he doesn’t listen to their suggestions, he brought in a ringer…….need I go on?

Emma

Emma, looking extra creepy

Emma……………oh, Emma.  I really liked her at first.  I loved her quirky tendencies and thought she was really funny.  Then she started making really stupid choices and I just couldn’t handle it.  I totally understand that she is in love with someone she can’t have.  Been there, done that.  But why did she have to date Ken and then, splutter, gasp, agree to marry him??????  Does she live in a universe where Will and Ken are the only men available to her.  And then is she not confident enough in herself to be alone rather than be with someone she doesn’t even like????  I lost all respect for her because now she is not only hurting herself, but someone else as well.

And one other thing………I know I have been taking a lot of hits at you, but there is one more thing………Every episode seems to be about the exact same thing.  I think you would have been so much better as a limited series or a mini-series.  Your writers don’t seem to know what to do so they just repeat the same formula every week (someone abandons Glee!!!  someone interferes with Glee!!!!  Everything works out okay and they all come back together!!!!)  How will you keep going for multiple seasons??  Are we supposed to believe that these 20-somethings are high school juniors, or God forbid, freshman???

Okay…..I think I am done ranting now.  I think I am so disappointed in you because my hopes were so high.  Watching the promos still brings joy to my heart, probably because it includes the things I love most…..the songs and the dancing.  I think I will be getting my Glee fix from now on by watching the promos and I will be just fine.  I might watch next week’s episode because I know it revolves around Kurt, but after that I think I am done.

Original Glees

The Original Glees

I will listen to the soundtrack from the show and it will make me happy enough.  This might all sound harsh, but I am very hard on television shows.  My time is valuable to me and if a show is not living up to my expectations, I gain an hour of reading time every week (that’s why I said goodbye to The Office, Grey’s Anatomy, and Lost).

Hopefully you aren’t too upset.  I know you have millions of loyal followers who still worship at your feet, so you probably won’t even notice I’m gone.  I know many of my friends (and fellow bloggers) are big fans of the show, so I’m sure they will defend you in the comments.

Jen

11 Responses to “An Open Message To Glee”


  1. 1 Melody November 5, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Okay, I am so glad I am not the only one! SO many people I know are just in love with Glee, and I had such high hopes for it… but it’s really not working for me. It’s like the show can’t figure itself out. Every week, the characters’ personalities change drastically in order to serve whatever plot line they came up with for the week. The choices that the characters make do not make any sense at all. The writing is awful! And no one wanted that show to be awesome more than me. It had amazing potential! But it just doesn’t work.

  2. 2 Abby November 5, 2009 at 9:00 am

    I KNOW RIGHT?!

    I totally agree with you on pretty much every point. I had such high hopes and Glee has been really disappointing. And it’s WORSE because everyone is SO into it and, on paper, I love the fact that everyone’s loving a show about geeky Glee kids, but in reality I want to turn to them and say “Why do you love such a substandard show?!”

    I do love most of the music they have had on there. And I love Kurt, too. But I hate all the adult characters and, well, yeah.

  3. 3 Abby November 5, 2009 at 9:01 am

    PS: I LOVE COMMUNITY. It is my favorite show this fall. 🙂 I LOVE ABED!

  4. 4 ngtjennifer November 5, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Whew! I am also glad that I wasn’t the only one who feels this way. Abby, we kind of talked about this in Naperville, but it has totally gotten worse since then.

    I think that I will have to give Community a try when it comes out on DVD. Maybe I just wasn’t in the right mood when I watched the first episode.

  5. 5 ngtlindsay November 5, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    OK, first off, get back on the Community Bandwagon. The first few episodes didn’t have me convinced, but I stuck with it and it is starting to turn into my favorite show on Thursday.

    Now, I will come to Glee’s defense. I agree with you that the pregnancy plots are a little wacky. But I have come to understand that is kind of typical of the show’s creator. In defense of Will’s wife, she started out super terrible, but has come to be a bit more likeable. They really are trying with her.

    As for Quinn and Finn. I can’t wait for them to break up. I am an advocate of Finn and Rachel. I like Rachel, especially because she has started coming down off of her diva pedestal. I like the whole love rectangle thing with Quinn and Finn and Rachel and Puck. Although I wish they would have drawn out the Puck and Rachel attraction a little bit longer. I would have loved to see Finn get super jealous.

    Back to the pregnancy lines – you know it’s going to come crashing down soon. I believe I saw a preview where Puck was yelling he got Quinn pregnant. And seriously, it’s going to be awfully hard to not see where Quinn’s baby goes if they actually do go through with the ridiculous adoption line. Finn would tell Will eventually.

    I do agree with you about Emma. I was really disappointed with her choice to marry Ken. She said she didn’t want to go through life alone, but that’s what she’ll be doing as they won’t be living together and no one will be allowed to know they got married. What is the point? Other than making Will jealous. I don’t believe that the wedding will happen, and if it does, I don’t believe Emma would actually marry Ken.

    I love Mercedes and Kurt and their storyline. It’s so cute! But I’d like to see more Tina and Artie. Artie’s gotten a bit more time than Tina, but still I want more! I think they tried a bit with Tina and West Side Story, but it totally wasn’t good enough. Let’s see a Tina based episode!

    And regardless of where this show goes, I will continue watching it if not only for the Sue oneliners. Seriously, how can you not love her pro-littering stance? I think I almost died laughing that night.

  6. 6 Jill November 5, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    Ok, I completely disagree with you Jen. I was not crazy about Glee after the first episode, but I gave it another shot, and I’ve gradually liked it more and more. Yes, the storylines are crazy, but I think that’s just what kind of show it is. You can’t take it too seriously.

    And I definitely wouldn’t call Will & Emma the next Jim & Pam, but I’m ok with them. I’m not crazy about the Emma/Ken wedding storyline, but I think that was the only way Emma felt she could get Will to really notice her. She’s in love with Will and is trying this drastic final thing to see if he’s going to tell her how he feels. Yes, I’m not happy she thinks marrying Ken is her only other option if Will’s not interested, but it’s how the character thinks in what feels like a hopeless situation. Also, I do agree about Will being unobservant, but I think that’s because he’s so wrapped up in everything. He’s trying to do everything right – get Glee going, battle Sue, prepare for his child’s birth, make money for his family, friendship with Emma, live his childhood dream – that he becomes scatterbrained & can’t actually concentrate on anything long enough to realize none of it’s really working.

    One of the things I like a lot about Glee is that it keeps surprising me. I thought it was a complete comedy at first, but then there are actual (although probably brief) times where they hit something serious & I expect a joke to come, but it doesn’t. I can’t think of a specific example, but it definitely happened at least once for me.

    The other thing I absolutely love about Glee (well, besides the music) is Sue. I completely agree with Lindsay – I will continue to watch for her oneliners if the show ever hits rock bottom. This is one of my favorites & I laughed SO hard when she said it with such emphasis & a total straight face: “I don’t trust a man with curly hair. I can’t help but picture little birds laying sulfurous eggs in there, and it disgusts me.”

    Oh, and Jen, I second (or is it third?) the comment about getting back on the Community bandwagon. Also, LOST!

  7. 7 ngtjennifer November 6, 2009 at 12:13 am

    Jill and Lindsay, I’m glad that you guys are liking the show. I agree that Sue is amazing. I loved her quote when she was calling out the kids for her group: “Santana, Wheels, Gay Kid, Asian, Other Asian, Aretha, Shaft!” Best line ever!

    I totally agree with what Melody said about the characters personalities changing drastically for no apparent reason other than that it fits the story. Puck who hated singing SO much in the pilot suddenly joins the Acafellas in like the 3rd episode?? What?

    Also, I am very disappointed that the show is becoming much more about football players and cheerleaders instead of about the original Glee kids. It’s like the original members weren’t considered appealing enough so they had to throw some “popular” kids into the mix. I agree with Lindsay, where is Tina’s episode???!!!!

  8. 8 Amber November 6, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    1. ABED FOREVER!
    2. I love that you are so hard on TV shows, Jen. At first it always makes me sad because I’m like “oh no, she is not getting joy out of the show anymore!” but then I think “But hey, she sounds like such a bad-ass, independent woman who knows what she wants, YEAH!”
    3. I like Glee, but I like everything. Except the sixth Harry Potter movie. That sucked. But I admit a main reason I enjoy Glee is because I get together with my cousins and aunts to watch it every week. And I am a little bit catty, so I like the soap opera appeal.
    4. I just hope all these people and critics raving about Glee realize that it would be nothing without High School Musical.

  9. 9 ngtjennifer November 8, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    Amber, so right about High School Musical! I do feel a little bad sometimes about being hard on tv shows, but you made me feel good about it. 🙂

  10. 10 ngtlindsay November 11, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Oh, and I was thinking about something else in your post. The personality thing. I have to defend this, as I think high schoolers have personality shifts every now and then. I mean seriously, was I the only one who was afraid she might lose her friends every day? I never felt like I knew where I stood with most people. I never knew when they would decide they should drop me. And then I feel like I was probably a bit of a Jekyll-Hyde type myself, as I could be super happy excited one day and then morose the next. Also, with Quinn, her moods would be swinging all over the place since she’s pregnant AND a teenager. My goodness, I didn’t feel like the personality shifts were something to be suspicious of. I think most of us have just forgotten how teenagers can be. Not to say that we were all like me or the characters in Glee. If anything, the thing I can’t believe is that Rachel isn’t popular because I think she’s pretty and when I went to high school, if you were conventionally pretty, you were popular.

  11. 11 ngtjennifer November 11, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    Lindsay, yeah….I guess I see what you mean about personalities in high school. My personality didn’t really change much in high school because I was super shy and didn’t have much of a personality. And yes! I totally agree that Rachel would have been popular in my high school too! The rule was pretty=popular no matter how nerdy you were.


Leave a Reply

