Keeping Comments Respectful

Dear NerdGirl readers,

Today I was disheartened by a comment made on the 17th of October.  I did not approve it, and plan on deleting it.  But I wanted to put it in this post to talk about something that makes me angry and disappointed.  The comment was for a post by ngtAmber, Proof.  It is a picture of Dumbledore (Richard Harris era) with a speech bubble that says “I heart Michael Gambon!”.  I trust most people would find the humor in this, but sadly most people just didn’t grasp the concept.  That’s ok though.  It was humorous to see the comments pointing out that the picture wasn’t of Michael Gambon.  But then someone had to be rude.

Alexa from the UK said on 10/17/09, “Thats not Michael Gambon you bint…”

Being from the US, I had never heard the term bint before but it didn’t feel very nice to me.  So I googled the term.  On one site it says that bint is slang in the UK for bitch.  On another site it said that bint is a term for a naive female, often perceived as stupid.  In whatever form the term was meant, I am deeply offended that anyone would ever think to apply it to Amber, or anyone else on this site for that matter.  I will have you know that Amber, Jen and Jill are some of the smartest, nicest and most creative people I have ever known or met.

One thing that I enjoy about keeping this site is that all of the comments made have been clean.  Nobody has ever felt the need to use a deragatory term (at least I’ve never seen a pending comment like that before).  Sure some people have disagreed with some things we wrote, but they were intelligent enough to use their words respectfully.

There is an alarming trend on the internet – outright rudeness.  With the anonymity that a computer screen affords, people feel that they can ditch common courtesy and say mean, rude and outright obnoxious things to other people.  I have seen comments where people have wished death upon others.  What is up with that??  How can we be so callous?!

In the future, I would hope that our readers would continue to keep showing their ability to use their words in a way that conveys their point intelligently and respectfully.  I know I appreciate it and I would bet my last dollar that Jen, Jill and Amber appreciate it too.

Also, if you leave a comment that is disrespectful or uses derogatory terms, you will not see it published as we will delete it.  I don’t think this is censorship, just a way to keep our website as friendly and enjoyable as possible.

Thanks,

ngtlindsay

4 Responses to “Keeping Comments Respectful”


  1. 1 Amber October 19, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Dumbledore hearts Lindsay, too.

  2. 2 Jill October 19, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    Aw, you’re the best! Thanks for defending our honor.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer October 19, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    I’m so glad that you posted this!!! I completely agree with everything you said, especially the part about me being really smart 🙂

  4. 4 ngtlindsay October 20, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    I totally had to post this. I read that comment and just got so. pissed. off. Seriously, where does anybody get off calling someone something rude for absolutely no reason. If anyone is what that girl wrote, it is that girl. For not getting the freaking joke and then feeling the need to be a jerk about it. Grr!!


Leave a Reply

