My REAL Favorite Movies #2

Every single week I clean my apartment.  I am actually becoming more and more anal about it as I get older.  While I clean, I always put in a movie as nice background noise.  One of my favorites to put in, but always a dangerous choice is Sky High.  It’s dangerous because I find myself stopping to watch certain parts and inevitably end up sitting through the whole last half not cleaning at all.

Sky High

I am actually one of the few people who can admit to seeing Sky High in the theater.  I went with a friend to the Brickyard 400 a few years back and we stayed with her aunt and uncle.  We entertained her little cousin one day by taking her to town and going to the movies.  Sky High was the kid’s movie that sounded the least boring.  I was not excited because from the commercials on tv I thought it looked cheap (see: the costumes and cheesy special effects) and a total rip off of all the big superhero movies that had just come out.  Well, my friend’s cousin loved it, my friend hated it, but I secretly adored it!!!!

The story is about Will Stronghold, the son of the two greatest superheroes ever, going off to Sky High for his freshman year.  Will is played by Michael Angarano who is (or was, I can never keep up with these things) famous for being Kristen Stewart’s real life boyfriend, and being in the same movie as Lindsay and Amber: The Final Season.  The only problem is he doesn’t have any powers yet.

First of all, this movie is hilarious!!!!  The adult cast is pitch perfect.  Kurt Russell as Will’s dad is so great!  He is clueless and arrogant and kind of dumb and it is wonderful.  Dave Foley as Mr. Boy is soooooo funny, but Dave Foley is funny in everything he does.  But best of all is that Farva from SuperTroopers plays Ron Wilson, Bus Driver!!!  (By the way, did you know there is going to be a SuperTroopers 2!!!!!)

Those lucky sidekicks

Those lucky sidekicks

I also love all the kids in the movie.  Zack who glows, Magenta who turns into a guinea pig, and Ethan who melts are all so cute!  But Layla is probably my favorite.  She gets to wear really cool clothes, her power is manipulating plants, and her mom can talk to animals!!!  I totally want to be Layla.  But if I could pick any power, I would probably want to have the ability to duplicate another person’s appearance and masquerade around as them.  Hmmmmm, who would I be……..?

Layla and her totally sweet Homecoming dress

Layla and her totally sweet Homecoming dress

The one thing I really love about this movie, and it is kind of silly, but I can’t help it, is that when Will gets his powers and is swept up in the popular crowd, he doesn’t become a jerk.  The standard formula in these movies is to have the main character get all popular, abandon their old friends and start to act like a total asshat (see: Mean Girls).  Will doesn’t do that, which is so refreshing.  He does get a little overwhelmed by everything, but he never acts like a jerk.

Mr. Warren Peace

Mr. Warren Peace

I think that everyone should watch this movie because it is so fantastic!!!  If you like high school movies, superhero movies, or funny movies, this is something you will enjoy.  It also has the best character name ever: Warren Peace (who also happens to be really hot, and WELL over 18 so it’s okay).  Here are some of my favorite quotes from this awesome movie!

“There’s trouble downtown (duh duh DUH) Big. Trouble.”

“There is no smoking on school grounds…….or freezing or bursting into flame.”

“Sidekicks will please stop ordering hero sandwiches.”

“Way to go Popsicle.”

While watching a dummy get sliced up during the save the citizen game: “Do you remember when we used to use real citizens?”

“Oh. My. God.  I made out with an old lady.”

And then, probably one of my favorite last lines from any movie ever (a little spoiler-y, but if you don’t know what’s going to happen after the first 15 minutes then you haven’t been paying attention): “In the end, my girlfriend became my arch enemy, my arch enemy became my best friend, and my best friend became my girlfriend.  But hey, it’s high school.”  Truer words were never spoken.

Here’s the trailer:

Jen

6 Responses to “My REAL Favorite Movies #2”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay October 19, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    I’m not afraid to admit it. I totally loved this movie! I laughed out loud when I read “Michael Angarano who is (or was, I can never keep up with these things) famous for being Kristen Stewart’s real life boyfriend, and being in the same movie as Lindsay and Amber: The Final Season.
    I almost cried I laughed so hard. Oh Jen, you’re awesome.

  2. 2 Jill October 19, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Hmm, I’ve never seen this, but I kind of want to now. You guys should come visit me some weekend & we can have a movie marathon of movies like this.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer October 19, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Oh Lindsay! I’m glad I could make you laugh. One of the things I love about having this blog with you guys is that I can always count on the rest of you to make me laugh, so I’m glad I can return the favor.

    And Jill, yes! I would love to come and visit you in the town that I can’t pronounce!!! We can watch kids movies and Hayley Mills movies and all that other stuff no one else will watch with us.

  4. 4 Amber October 19, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    oooh can we also watch Kurt Russell’s The Computer Wore Tennis Shoes?! I always forget how much I love Kurt Russell, and then I suddenly have these moments of clarity where I’m like, whoa, I am a really big KR fan. Stargate? love it. Executive Decision? love it. Captain Ron? love it. Overboard? Love it. Sky High? love it. and it goes on.

  5. 5 Jill October 20, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Absolutely! I saw Overboard lately & it definitely made me want to watch more Kurt Russell movies.

  6. 6 ngtjennifer October 20, 2009 at 8:33 am

    I’ve never seen The Computer Wore Tennis Shoes…..I must add that to my list. But I love all of his movies too!!!


Leave a Reply

