Offbeat College Essays #2

Yesterday’s essay was How do you feel about Wednesday.  If you haven’t answered, please do so here!

Today’s essay is from the 2009 Wake Forest application:

What outrages you?

Oh goodness.  I think I could probably go on and on about what outrages me, but I will stick to the most current thing that outrages me and then also the tiny things that outrage me.

First – the most current thing that outrages me.  People in Hollywood sticking up for Roman Polanski.  I’m (not) sorry, but he admitted to having sex with a 13 year old girl after she repeatedly said no.  Even if she had said yes, it would have been statutory rape and wrong.  But she said no, no, no!  Rape itself is a rage worthy topic, but what really gets me outraged is all the people who are like “Lighten up guys, it’s not a big deal.”  Yes, I know the victim has said for people to get over it, and I think they should – by putting Polanski away in jail and making him serve the time he should have served years ago.  Then just stop talking about him.  The only reason the victim wanted all this to stop was because the media made her out to be the one who instigated everything.  Whoa, I am feeling way outraged right now because I started writing about it all.  How could people be such dumbasses?

Now on to my little outrages.  I have a very big thing about people eating.  I do not want to see your food after you put it in your mouth.  I do not want to hear it.  I do not want to hear you bite your silverware.  I do not want to hear you belch (and then most times not say “Excuse me”).  I do not want to hear you sniffle a million times when you could go to the bathroom and wipe your nose or just wipe your nose on your sleeve.  I especially do not want to hear you chomp on your gum.  These things go beyond mere pet peeves for me.  The other day I was in Borders and someone kept sniffling in my area.  I tried to ignore it, but after 5 minutes of this guy sniffling once every ten seconds I wanted to scream at him.  But of course you can’t just do that in a public place because you’ll look insane and people will think you need to be hosed down.  And what’s with guys belching and thinking that it’s cute?  It’s not cute guys.  And girls, it is ESPECIALLY not cute when you do it.  If you burp and say excuse me, you are forgiven, because I am completely aware that burping is a natural bodily function that has to happen.  But seriously, it is rude to expel gas and then not say excuse me.  I do not include expelling gas out of your rear end, because let’s face it – that scenario is almost always embarassing and who wants to own up cutting the cheese?

So, what outrages you?

lindsay

4 Responses to “Offbeat College Essays #2”


  1. 1 jobonga October 15, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    I am outraged on both fronts! Especially noisy chewing. It makes me feel very tortured.
    Have you seen this article What Scorsese and All the Rest Know About Roman Polanski That Maybe You Don’t? I think you will appreciate the tone.

  2. 2 ngtlindsay October 15, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Oh I totally appreciate the tone in that article – thanks for sharing!
    On the noisy chewing – there was a time when I lived with a noisy chewer (not Amber) and so to cancel it out I would munch on cereal while she was eating. I think I gained weight during that time. She ate a lot.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer October 17, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    I get outraged by an awful lot of things. I am outraged whenever I hear about animals being mistreated. It literally makes me see red. It also makes me outraged that even though I will never eat meat, it won’t actually save any animals from being killed.

    But the thing that outrages me on a regular basis, and I think I might have mentioned it on here before, is when I am at work and I hear a parent tell their child, “honey, put that back where you found it.” AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH! Please don’t let your children try to put things back on the shelves!!!!!

  4. 4 Amber October 21, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    I am outraged by how when thinking of a scary movie I wanted to watch, all I could think of is “Rosemary’s Baby” but I REFUSE to watch a Roman Polanski movie right now in case it is mistaken for support. And the more I think about it, the more I REALLY want to watch it, but I WON’T I WON’T I WON’T!


Leave a Reply

