Offbeat College Essay Topics #1

I don’t know if any of you are mental_floss afficiandos, but if you are you will probably recognize the title of this post.  Yesterday mentalfloss.com posted a fun article, 11 Offbeat College Essay Topics by Katie Naymon.  Even if you don’t read the magazine or even the website, this article is worth checking out.

I thought it would be fun to write the essays and share them on the blog.  I realize this is for the college application and that my answers will be way different now that I am about a year and a half out of college, but I think that makes it even a little bit more fun.

The first essay question is from the University of Chicago (from the 2002 application – not sure if it is still in use today):

How do you feel about Wednesday?

Well, today is Wednesday.  And quite honestly I feel like it has been forever since the week started and it will be forever until the week is over.  So right now I feel pretty negatively about Wednesday.  Also, I hate how people call Wednesday “Hump Day”.  That sounds dirty to me and I don’t like hearing it.

Back in college I had some friends who would throw Hump Day parties.  I do not remember attending one single Wednesday night party.  I do remember being pissy when I then had to listen to how much fun everyone had while I was stuck doing homework and making sure I got enough sleep so that I could get up and go to class.  Thursday classes were always the smaller discussion classes that counted attendance towards grades, so I always showed up to those (lectures on the other hand….well…I tried…but hey I graduated so I at least have that going for me).

On the other hand, Wednesday used to be my favorite day in high school because of the clubs that met then.  So… when you boil it down, asking me how I feel about Wednesday isn’t really fair because based on the time you are asking me, my answer could vary quite a bit.

High school Lindsay: Wednesday is awesome!  I totally wish it could be like Double Wednesday every week!

College Lindsay: Wednesday f’ing sucks.  Why don’t you make yourselves useful and go get me some chocolate milk and a rice krispies treat?

Today Lindsay: Eh, it depends on the weather.

How do YOU feel about Wednesday?  Please submit answers for consideration into Lindsay’s College of Fantastic Awesomeness.

6 Responses to “Offbeat College Essay Topics #1”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer October 14, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    I don’t remember what my past feelings about Wednesday used to be, but right now I am quite fond of them. Every Wednesday at lunchtime I say, “Oh, the week’s half over.” And then when I get home from work, I am able to say that I’ve already made it through three whole days and only have two left.

    (Now it may seem that all of this counting down means that I don’t like my job, but that is not true. I love my job, but I just REALLY like the weekends.)

  2. 2 ngtlindsay October 15, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Jen = accepted into my college. Welcome Jen!

  3. 3 Abby October 15, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    I actually quite like Wednesdays. For the past several years I have worked the Thursday evening shift at the library. So Wednesday kind of feels like a mini-Friday night. I can stay up a little later. I might go run errands after work (like shopping!) since I don’t have to get to bed by a certain time.

    Plus, some of my favorite TV shows air on Wednesday nights. America’s Next Top Model! Top Chef!

    For me, Wednesday night is a little oasis in the middle of a busy week. And that is why I quite like Wednesdays.

  4. 4 ngtlindsay October 15, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Welcome to the school Abby! And you are so right about the TV shows! I totally didn’t factor in Glee! I guess I do look forward to Wednesday night!

  5. 5 Jill October 23, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    My answer is basically a combination between Jen & Abby’s. I don’t remember how I felt about Wednesdays previously. I think I was indifferent. But now, Wednesday mornings are “Eh” and get progressively better as the day goes on. When the work day is over, it’s all “Woohoo, another day closer to the weekend!” Plus, Wednesday is definitely one of the best nights of tv…SYTYCD AND Glee?? Awesome!


  1. 1 Offbeat College Essays #2 « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on October 15, 2009 at 3:02 pm

Leave a Reply

