ngtlindsay: Book Review #3

On the third edition of Lindsay’s book reviews we have Percy Jackson and The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan!

This a freaking huge picture of the book but it is the smallest I could make it.  Or rather, the book is so awesome it deserves to be this big.

I just recently got into the Percy Jackson series and boy am I glad I did.  I absolutely love the books.  Rick Riordan is a masterful storyteller.  My first Rick Riordan book was the first 39 Clues book, The Maze of Bones.  Why I did not seek out any of his other books right then and there I can’t figure out.  I love the 39 Clues!  And the fact that different authors all get to write the books yet Riordan came up with the series plotline…it just excites me in a weird way.

I can’t wait until The Last Olympian comes out in paperback so I can buy it.  I have the first four books all in paperback, so if I bought the hardback it would look all weird.  I read this book in installments at Borders.  Thank you Borders.  Eventually I will buy the book…maybe not from you though.  *Sidenote – does anyone else feel like a jerk when they buy a book from a big chain bookstores like Borders or B&N?  I do because I could totally go to Davis Kidd which is just as well stocked…but I don’t because DK is out in the mall and I can totally walk to Borders after working out.

OK, on to the book.  I’m not going to recap this book other than to say it is the final book in the Percy Jackson series.  I will say that the series is about a boy named Percy, who at age 12 finds out he is the son of Poseidon which makes him a demigod.  And also that the books are all about the different quests he goes on.  I feel like I am cheating you all a bit, but I really don’t want to give anything away to anybody who has yet to read the first books.

Well, I think you can already tell that I loved this book and the rest of the series.  But I think this was my favorite book of all.  Percy, in my mind, really steps up to his hero status.  I don’t mean to say that he doesn’t save the day in other books, because he does.  But in this last one he really does come into his own.

Another thing I like about this book?  I love the way Percy talks.  Rick Riordan just gets it.  I don’t know if teenagers really talk like Percy does…but Riordan has totally convinced me that they do.  Or at least I found the way Percy sounds to be totally believable.  Also Annabeth – I totally believed her too.

Favorite characters (excluding Percy): Annabeth, duh!  If I could be a character in this book I would totally want to be Annabeth.  Not because of why you might think, but more because she has (name omitted for reasons concerning the fourth book)’s computer.  That’s so frickin’ awesome!!  I want that computer!  Oh all right, and also because Percy is totally a literary hottie (I am picturing him as at least 20, ok?  Or more likely that I am 16…..no juding please).

Clarisse: What a badass!  Sure she’s a little mean and rough around the edges.  But she’s got her softspots.

Blackjack: I want a pegasus!!!!!

Bessie: Seriously, so cute in my mind!

Tyson: Awwwwww so loveable.  I want him to be my little brother!

Nico: He totally comes through when he’s needed and I think he may be the bravest demigod yet.

My not favorite characters: Rachel.  I do not like Rachel.  Maybe this is because when I am reading the books I like to imagine myself as Annabeth.  But seriously, I just wish Rachel would like get a bad case of irreversible acne or something.  Ugh, whatever, she’s like so totally not worth my time.  Hehehehehehehhehehehehehe.

Hera: OMG she’s like so mean!  No wonder Zeus cheated on her all the time!

As for the movie, I am totally psyched for it to come out!  However I do not like the fact that Annabeth will be played by someone who is #1) Not blonde, and #2(and most importantly)) 23 years old.  I could deal with Annabeth being a brunette.  But 23 years old?  Unforgivable.  The guy playing Percy is 17… not much better but whatever.  I just don’t like the idea that casting couldn’t find someone closer to the age of 12 to play Annabeth.  I mean surely there are talented enough girls under the age of 20 at least!  I don’t know if this will bother me when watching the movie…I severly hope that there will be no Percy/Annabeth action in this movie…I may be too creeped out to enjoy it.

I don’t want to end my review on that note.  Instead I will go back to the books and say you must must must must go read them!  They are super fast paced and totally easy to read!  Also I think both guys and girls can totally get into these books which is a total bonus!

Go read!

lindsay

5 Responses to “ngtlindsay: Book Review #3”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer October 11, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    I’m so glad you love this series!!!! I am so glad I am not the only one who is weird about books in a series. I also like to have all paperback or all hardcover. I haven’t been very successful (my Twilight and HP series are all messed up) but at least my Princess Diaries books are all in hardcover.

  2. 2 Jill October 11, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Hmm, I thought I left a message earlier, but apparently it didn’t show up…

    I cannot wait to read this book!! It’s the only one I have left. I have to wait to start it until I finish Al Capone Shines My Shoes, and I’m having a hard time getting through it. I’m really excited for the movie. Apparently I don’t care as much about the age/hair issues as you. lol

    P.S. I have to thank Jen for getting me to read Percy Jackson! Thanks, Jen!!! I distinctly remember you describing the series to me while we were shopping with Amber the weekend before I left IC. (*tear*)

  3. 3 ngtlindsay October 12, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    Jen – I know about the books, it really bothers me – I have a small Princess Diaries #1, but then the new hardcover #10 and new paperback #9 – it drives me CRAZY!

    Jill – You’re having a hard time getting through the second Al Capone??? Oh noes! And I don’t care so much about the hair issues so much as I do about the age. It just makes me feel icky 😦

  4. 4 Jill October 12, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Well, I actually ended up reading the last half of it last night, so I think it was more like I didn’t have time to read for awhile so it took me a long time to get into it. It wasn’t bad. I am glad to be on to something else now though — I’m reading The Dead & the Gone. 🙂


  1. 1 ngtjill: Book Review #2 « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on November 8, 2009 at 4:37 pm

Leave a Reply

