EEEK! Teacup Pigs Are Real!

The cuteness is too overwhelming for words

The cuteness is too overwhelming for words

I first heard about the adorable idea of Teacup Pigs in one of my favorite books Let It Snow, which I have raved about before.  In Lauren Myracle’s story “The Patron Saint of Pigs” a huge part of the plot revolves around getting a teacup pig for one of the characters.  I thought the idea was great, but I thought I remembered reading an interview with Lauren saying that teacup pigs didn’t really exist, she’d just made them up for the story.

Well, I must have been halucinating because they are totally real!!!!  So if you have an extra thousand dollars lying around, you can buy your very own teacup pig.  The baby ones are small enough to fit in a teacup (hence the name) and the fully grown ones only get to be about a foot tall.

Look!  They like cats!!!

Look! They like cats!!!

My new goal in life is to go back to England and bring back one of these little pigs (maybe two….then I could become a breeder as my full time job!!!).

EDIT:  Apparently a lot of people have been commenting that these pigs are not really as small as they appear to be and that these breeders might not be on the up and up.  So I think I will just stick to cats for now.

Jen

P.S.  Is it wrong that I want to buy another copy of Let It Snow just because it has a new cover???

9 Responses to “EEEK! Teacup Pigs Are Real!”


  1. 1 Jill October 7, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Oh my gosh, I totally read this online this morning! Rupert Grint has one!!

  2. 2 ngtjennifer October 8, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Oh Rupert! I can just see him driving around in his ice cream truck with his tiny pig sitting next to him. Heeheee.

  3. 3 Cynthia von Buhler October 11, 2009 at 12:12 am

    Hi there Nerd Girls,

    Thank you for nominating my book (But Who Will Bell the Cats?) for the Cybils. I love nerds.

    I have been thinking about starting a farm for little animals on my eight acres in CT. I already have eight cats, a dog, and nine white doves. Now I need a tiny pig, a petite donkey, and a miniature horse. I first heard about teacup pigs on youtube (check out Kingsford). While searching for a small pig, like Kingsford, I was told repeatedly that they DO NOT exist. Many pig experts assured me that ALL small pigs will grow up to be quite large (see the letter below).

    Cheers, Cynthia

    __________________

    Cynthia,

    I’m glad to know that you love pigs! If only more folks didn’t believe the stereotypes and misconceptions about them being dirty and stupid. Unfortunately, there is no such thing as a true miniature pot bellied pig. This is a myth, actually a lie, perpetuated by breeders and sellers since pot bellied pigs were introduced into this country. Breeders have tried tirelessly to breed pot bellied pigs “down” and also often times “starve” the piglets trying to keep them smaller. Pot bellied pigs grow for roughly 3.5 years and start reproducing at the age of only several months, so one of the tricks breeders/sellers use it to show very small parents (which themselves are still babies) in an attempt to dupe folks into thinking they will be buying a pig that will stay very small. Many folks buy piglets thinking they won’t exceed 40-60lbs…and then don’t want the pig after it gets bigger and the novelty wears off.

    Kingsford is a baby in that video of course but he will be rather large at full stature; not like a farm pig but I’d say at least 150lbs. One of our concerns with videos such as this one, is that the piglet is so adorable and folks then want one, not knowing what they are in for! By the way, average size for a pot bellied pig is 150lbs. On the smaller side, there are some that will be around 90-100lbs.

    I adore pigs; they are smart, clean, wise, comical, stubborn and just plain amazing! They are not for everyone though and the first thing I always do it make sure folks who are interested are educated about pigs and what to expect with them. I’m attaching some care info and including a link for our website that will take you to the piggy info. Please feel free to email me with any questions you have. Have you ever been around pot bellied pigs? I belong to a private rescue/sanctuary list and can determine if there someone on the list near you so that you can go visit to see if you think a pig or two would be a good pet for you? Have you ever visited Best Friends…you could come on out and meet our pigs?!

    Will this be an outside pig or an indoor/outdoor pig?

    http://www.bestfriends.org/theanimals/petcare/pigs.cfm

    Yvonne

    Yvonne McIntosh
    Best Friends Animal Society
    Manager/Nutritionist/Adoptions
    Pot Bellied Pig Department
    Yvonnem@bestfriends.org
    (435)644-2001 Ext. 4160

    “ROOTING OUT PIGNORANCE ONE HUMAN AT A TIME!”

  4. 4 ngtjennifer October 14, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Hi Cynthia! I adore your book!! Every time I read it I find something I missed before. That is very interesting about the tiny pigs. I thought for sure that I had heard they were not real. I hope that people don’t buy them and then not know what to do with them when they get bigger.

    I only have two cats right now, but I would love to rescue some more. Unfortunately, my apartment is not really big enough for that.

    Thanks for the comment!

  5. 7 Yvonne November 8, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    They will not stay tiny!!! Here is a link to our press release regarding these “teacup” pigs:

    http://www.prweb.com/releases/teacup_pigs/Animal_Welfare/prweb3119874.htm

  6. 8 brooke May 20, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    these little dudes are sooo cute(:

  7. 9 Lily October 17, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    No, they’re not. The only way they maintain that size is due to under-feeding and improper nutrition. They may be the new hot commodity, but taking care of a pig is nothing like owning a house cat.


Leave a Reply

