Amber’s Bridal blah blah blog: BINGO!

So there I was, feeling all “AAAAAACK!” I love love love weddings and cheesy things and girly things, so why was I being all Bella Swan about planning my wedding?

Eh, Im Bella and I like Wuthering Heights and Im too good for prom and dresses. frown.

"Eh, I'm Bella and I like Wuthering Heights and I'm too good for prom and dresses. frown."

Then one day, it suddenly all became clear. Bingo. Bingo! I wanted to play Bingo at my wedding reception!

How I want to look on my wedding day.

How I want to look on my wedding day.

I spent a couple days just feeling all giddy and dreaming of Bingo before it gradually became clear why I wanted Bingo. My grandmother was a big Bingo player, and thus Bingo is closely tied to memories of my family: we played Bingo together every Thanksgiving using bowls of corn kernels to mark our cards; Grandma would always give us a few quarters to play games with her at the summer festivals of Long Grove, McCausland and Donahue; and I spent HOURS making pictures using her Dotter markers. Bingo means family, bingo means sharing, and bingo means fun πŸ™‚ === MY WEDDING!

:::sigh of relief::: everything makes sense now–I want my wedding to feel like a good ol’ family get together! food off the grill, Bingo and horseshoes, uncles watching football, grandmas playing cards, etc etc. Wheeee I am so excited now! Every bride needs a bingo moment. Let the planning begin.

5 Responses to “Amber’s Bridal blah blah blog: BINGO!”


  1. 1 ngtjill October 5, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    omg I love this! What a fabulous idea! And you could totally make it a themed Amber/Steve Bingo. The spaces could say things like Alan Shepard and Lester, etc etc. πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Abby October 6, 2009 at 6:43 am

    When I was a kid, we used to play BINGO at birthdays. My grandparents would blow up several balloons and put money in them (a dollar, a quarter, etc.) and tie them to the light fixtures in the kitchen. When you won a game of BINGO, you got to choose a balloon to pop and keep what was inside. πŸ™‚

    So I totally understand about BINGO = good family times!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer October 6, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Bingo is so much fun!!! We used to play at Simpson College once a month and it was amazing!!! That is a fantastic idea for your wedding!

    P.S. Your caption of Bella’s picture made my whole day. πŸ™‚

  4. 4 ngtamber October 7, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Yayayayay! my dad thinks I’m crazy, but I think he’s always thought that (and secretly likes that I’m that way) πŸ™‚

  5. 5 ngtlindsay October 15, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    OK OK OK!!! I have a super good idea for you to consider for your wedding!
    Are you ready for this??
    OK
    OK
    Here it is.

    Walking. Tacos.

    I just blew your mind, didn’t I?


Leave a Reply

