Percy Jackson Movie What What???

One of the first things I did upon starting my new life back in Iowa (Yippee!!) was to read the whole Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan.  I had listened to the first book a looooooong time ago and was kind of meh? about it.  Then I decided to give it another chance and LOVED them all!!!!

So of course I was excited to see that The Lightning Thief is being made into a movie!!!  (Is it just me, or is that the hardest title in the world to spell……I never get lightning right and then I have to pause before I can spell thief.)  I am very excited, but also very wary about this.  Here are some things that make me very VERY nervous and/or upset.

**I am worried that they will just make one movie.  If they do the first book, I am going to want them to do all the rest because they are awesome!!!!  But the chance of that happening is very slim.  If this movie does not do Harry Potter sized business, they will forget about the franchise and leave everybody hanging.  Now, I am not basing this on actual facts (for all I know they could be working on Sea of Monsters right now) but on past movie experiences (The Golden Compass anyone??).

percy-jackson

**Ummmm, why isn’t Annabeth blonde???????  I am really upset about this!  Maybe it is silly and stupid, but I hardly remember anything about characters physical descriptions……but I specifically remember all the times Percy referred to Annabeth’s blonde CURLY hair.  Ummmm, she also looks like she is 26.

**Where is Grover’s hat?????  Isn’t he supposed to have horns sticking out of his head that his big curly hair and hat are supposed to cover up???  Hmmmm.

**I guess Percy looks okay.

Anyway, even with all of these little annoyances, I think the movie is going to be waaaaay cool.  The people playing the grown ups in Percy’s world are incredible…..Pierce Brosnan, Catherine Keener, Steve Coogan, Sean Bean, and Uma Thurman just to name a few.  I am hoping it will be a fun movie and I don’t get too nitpicky about all the stuff that has changed, but we shall see.

Here is the trailer to get you excited too:

Jen

10 Responses to “Percy Jackson Movie What What???”


  1. 1 ngtjill September 23, 2009 at 12:04 am

    YEEEEESSSSS! I am SO excited about this movie! I cannot wait to see the Percy Jackson story on the big screen. When I was at HP6 and the trailer came on, I was really excited and no one else seemed to care because they haven’t read the books. I agree with you about hoping they do the whole series and not just the 1st book. I will be very disappointed if that happens.

  2. 2 ngtlindsay September 23, 2009 at 10:08 am

    I totally agree about Annabeth! I am super ticked off! Also, in real life the girl playing Annabeth is in her 20s. She’s supposed to be like 11 or 12! I just don’t understand why they couldn’t find a 14-15 year old girl to play her. I do wish she was blonde in the movie, but it’s her age that pisses me off most. Regardless, I will still go see the movie.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer September 23, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Yeah, I think they aged up all the characters….Percy looks about 15 but Grover and Annabeth look my age…..which we have already established as being WAY old!

  4. 4 yuwi September 24, 2009 at 10:20 am

    The cast changes will dramatically offset the book in a bad way none of the cast members look the right age annabeth isn’t blonde and she just totally dosen’t look the part but again neither does percy he just isn’t percy also I like the fact that they made grover black especially since he has to wear a rasta cap but then again him……. hmm him being black dosen’t make up for the absence of the rasta cap

  5. 5 hades0110 October 8, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    yea i agree none of them look good at all, their to old Percy is supposed to be 12 but he’s 17!

  6. 6 Sierra January 25, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    I 100% agree with u! Eveything is bad age,hair,etc. so annoying.

  7. 7 JosieC February 9, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    I love the books. I hope (and will put blind faith in hoping) the movie will be awesome. Everything about the casting, though, (esp. the ages, jeez, they should all be about 14, some of them look mid twenties!)does seriously bug me.
    However, (cue shallow moment) mother of all,the guy who plays Percy IS FREAkIN’ HOT! Therefore, I will go and see the movie, NO MATTER how bad it is. (Shallow moment over… gosh, that was exhausting)

    Yours in nerdiness,
    JosieC

  8. 8 ngtjennifer February 14, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    I think after seeing all the commercials and everything that the movie will make me too mad……I am totally going to wait for it to come out on DVD, unless someone specifically asks me to go with them.

  9. 9 jess December 5, 2010 at 6:56 am

    well if im honest annabeth does have the right air about her with brown hair although i have to say she should have been blonde!!!!!! the age is just stupid though by the time they have got up to the 3rd book they are going to look stupid as they are going to be really old !!

  10. 10 JennaSydney Friend June 20, 2011 at 6:19 am

    annabeth’s hair should be blonde! They messed up some things in this movie and when i say some i mean alot like they were never searching for the pearls a sea lady gave them to percy!!!!!!!!! Anyway im still excited to see the sea of monsters its my fav book 😀


Leave a Reply

