Lindsay’s Countdown Challenge List

Thanks to Jill for finding this awesome challenge! As Jill stated already, you read 10 books published in 2010, 9 in 2009, yadayada all the way down to 1 in 2001. In case you are too lazy to scroll down to Jill’s post, here is the link again. Crusty dragons. Hehehehehe! Raise your hand if you remember what THAT means!

It has taken me a few days to compile my list of books to read. I tried to branch out a little from YA – a LITTLE not a LOT! I had a really hard time with some years (2005 and 2008 were the last ones I completed) and no trouble at all with some years (2009 and 2010 mostly). I stole a few books from Jill’s list, but let’s face it – I was probably going to read those anyways.

So without further ado:

2010
1. Runaway – Meg Cabot
2. Scarlett Fever – Maureen Johnson
3. Heist Society – Ally Carter
4. The Cinderella Society – Kay Cassidy
5. The Birthday Ball – Lois Lowry
6. Gimme a Call – Sarah Mlynowski
7. Emily the Strange: Dark Times – Rob Reger
8. Stranded – J.T. Dutton
9. Very LeFreak – Rachel Cohn
10. 39 Clues: Book #7 – Peter Lerangis

2009
1. The Last Olympian – Rick Riordan
2. The Treasure Map of Boys – E. Lockhart
3. Going Bovine – Libba Bray
4. Skulduggery Pleasant: The Faceless Ones – Derek Landy
5. The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline (Enola Holmes) – Nancy Springer
6. Charlie Bone and the Red King – Jenny Nimmo
7. Liar – Justine Larbalestier
8. Dull Boy – Sarah Cross
9. When You Reach Me – Rebecca Stead

2008
1. Paper Towns – John Green
2. The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets (Enola Holmes) – Nancy Springer
3. The Case of the Peculiar Pink Fan (Enola Holmes) – Nancy Springer
4. Lock and Key – Sarah Dessen
5. Impossible – Nancy Werlin
6. Well Witched – Frances Hardinge
7. Kingdom Keepers II: Disney at Dawn – Ridley Pearson
8. Science Fair – Dave Barry & Ridley Pearson

2007
1. Derby Girl – Shauna Cross
2. The Case of the Left-Handed Lady (Enola Holmes) – Nancy Springer 
3. The Chimera’s Curse (Companions Quartet) – Julia Golding
4. Wicked Lovely – Melissa Marr
5. The World Without Us – Alan Weisman
6. The Invention of Hugo Cabret – Brian Selznick
7. The Daring Book for Girls – Andrewa J. Buchanan

2006
1. Queen of Babble – Meg Cabot
2. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak
3. The Alphabet of Manliness – Maddox
4. Secret Society Girl – Diana Peterfreund
5. Fairest – Gail Carson Levine
6. The Looking Glass Wars – Frank Beddor

2005
1. Alice MacLeod, Realist at Last – Susan Juby
2. Assassination Vacation – Sarah Vowell
3. The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy – Jeanne Birdsall
4. Stanford Wong Flunks Big Time – Lisa Yee
5. Dancing in Red Shoes Will Kill You – Dorian Cirrone

2004
1. Al Capone Does My Shirts – Gennifer Choldenko
2. Miss Smithers – Susan Juby
3. The Truth About Forever – Sarah Dessen
4. Candyfreak: A Journey through the Chocolate Underbelly of America – Steve Almond

2003
1. Alice, I Think – Susan Juby
2. A Short History of Nearly Everything – Bill Bryson
3. The World According to Mister Rogers: Important Things to Remember – Fred Rogers

2002
1. Running With Scissors: A Memoir – Augusten Burroughs
2. Summerland – Michael Chabon

2001
1. Fast Food Nation – Eric Schlosser

If you happen to read over this list and notice that I’ve gotten the wrong year on a book, please let me know so I can get it in the right year and find another book to fill its space.

This is a tentative list, subject to change. I would like to read all of these books, but I will be limited by what I can find at the library and Borders/Barnes & Noble/Davis Kidd (but mostly Borders).

And along with this book challenge, I will be summarizing/reviewing the books. Hopefully this will become a habit for me and make writing come a more naturally. In fact, my next post will be coming directly after this post. I have already finished Enola Holmes #2 and #3 (don’t worry – I totally had them on the list before I started reading them…I just didn’t have the list finished). I was going to post a review of just #2 (The Case of the Left-Handed Lady), but then decided to just go ahead and do a double review. Perhaps I will do the same with #s 4 and 5.

Happy reading!
lindsay

6 Responses to “Lindsay’s Countdown Challenge List”


  1. 1 Jill September 19, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Yayayay! You’ve got a ton of good ones listed! I’m only on the 3rd 39 Clues book, but I’m on the Charlie Bone & the Beast, one past the one on your list. I’m glad you read them too! And I don’t know much about the Enola Holmes books, but since you have so many on your list, I’m going to have to try one! Oh and I liked Al Capone…, Impossible, and Kingdom Keepers. You should definitely write reviews or at least mini-reviews when you finish things!

  2. 2 kay September 20, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Great list! I recognize so many titles I want to read, too! I’m thinking of imitating you and reading “The Truth about forever”, too, since I’m missing a book for 2004!

  3. 3 ngtamber September 21, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Hand raised.

  4. 4 ngtlindsay September 21, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    @Jill – yes write reviews!!

    @Kay – I’ve only read one Sarah Dessen book before. Surprising as I consider hers to be the kinds of books I love. So I’m excited to read more of her.

    @Amber – Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha! Was that the one where we got drunk? Or was that the one where we pretended to be British? Logically I would say the British episode, but…you never know for sure with us.

  5. 5 Susan B. Evans September 23, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    You have some good ones on your list! I may have to re-think and tweak mine a bit 🙂 This is my first year participating in this challenge, and I just hope I can complete it. Come visit me here if you’d like. I’ve already read a couple of books for this challenge. I think it’s going to be fun 🙂

  6. 6 3m.michelle October 29, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    So glad you decided to participate!


Leave a Reply

