New Book Challenge!

I just learned about a new reading challenge that I plan on doing.  (Thanks to The Infinite Shelf for leading me to it.)  It’s hosted by 1morechapter – go here to see the official signup & rules.  Basically it’s reading 55 books in just over a year – you “read the number of books first published in a given year that corresponds to the last digit of each year in the 2000s”.  The official challenge dates are 9/9/09 – 10/10/10 so it’s already started, but there’s still plenty of time!  I’ve decided to attempt to read mostly YA books for the challenge.  Here’s my tentative list:  [edit- the ones I’ve finished have links to where I reviewed them]

2010:
1. Runaway – Meg Cabot
2. Island Sting – Bonnie Doerr
3. Stranded – J.T. Dutton, which is about “a girl involved in a mystery in a small Iowa farm community” – so excited!
4. Living Hell – Catherine Jinks
5.  Scarlett Fever – Maureen Johnson
6. Freaksville – Kitty Keswick
7. Bomb – Alice Kuipers
8.  The Carbon Diaries: 2017 – Saci Lloyd
9. the world we live in – Susan Beth Pfeffer
10. The Unwritten Rule – Elizabeth Scott

2009:
1.  Reality Check – Peter Abrahams
2. Anything But Typical – Nora Raleigh Baskin
3. The Roar – Emma Clayton
4.  The Carbon Diaries: 2015 – Saci Lloyd
5.  Geek Charming – Robin Palmer
6. The Last Olympian – Rick Riordan
7. Flygirl – Sherri L. Smith
8.  Chasing Lincoln’s Killer – James L. Swanson
9.  Levianthan – Scott Westerfeld

2008:
1.  Audrey, Wait! – Robin Benway
2. Graceling – Kristin Cashore
3. Airman – Eoin Colfer
4. Little Brother – Cory Doctorow
5. The Knife of Never Letting Go – Patrick Ness
6. The Adoration of Jenna Fox – Mary E. Pearson
7. the dead & the gone – Susan Beth Pfeffer
8. I Am Scout: The Biography of Harper Lee – Charles J. Shields

2007:
1. Thirteen Reasons Why – Jay Asher
2. The London Eye Mystery – Siobhan Dowd
3. Before I Die – Jenny Downham
4. The Luxe – Anna Godbersen
5. Skulduggery Pleasant – Derek Landy
6. Unwind – Neal Shusterman
7.  Born on a Blue Day – Daniel Tammet

2006:
1. I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You – Ally Carter
2. Freedom Walkers: The Story of the Montgomery Bus Boycott – Russell Freedman
3. Stormbreaker: Graphic Novel – Anthony Horowitz
4. The 9/11 Report: A Graphic Adaptation – Sid Jacobson & Ernie Colon
5. Hattie Big Sky – Kirby Larson
6.  The Rules of Survival – Nancy Werlin

2005:
1. Our Eleanor – Candace Fleming
2. Wrecked – E.R. Frank
3. The Boyfriend List – E. Lockhart
4. Peeps – Scott Westerfeld
5. I Am the Messenger – Marcus Zusak

2004:
1. Peter & the Starcatchers – Peter Barry & Ridley Pearson
2. The Key in the Golden Firebird – Maureen Johnson
3. A Crack in the Line – Michael Lawrence
4.  how i live now – Meg Rosoff

2003:
1. A Great & Terrible Beauty – Libba Bray
2. Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers – Mary Roach
3.  Persepolis – Marjane Satrapi

2002:
1. Everything Is Illuminated – Jonathan Safran Foer
2.  Bloody Jack – L. A. Meyer

2001:
1.  Whale Talk – Chris Crutcher

So that’s my list.  I’ll give reviews occasionally as I read.  Join in the fun!  What would you read?  Any suggestions?

– Jill

12 Responses to “New Book Challenge!”


  1. 1 Abby September 12, 2009 at 7:53 am

    Ooh, I love the idea of this challenge because I tend to only read new things and there’s a whole huge backlist that I never seem to get around to!

    If I wasn’t ridiculously bad at challenges, I might partake. 🙂

  2. 2 kay September 12, 2009 at 8:56 am

    That’s an awesome list! I see many titles I’ve loves and many I’m planning on reading too, whether it’s for the challenge or not. I’m glad to see you join too! Good luck! 😀

  3. 3 ngtjill September 12, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Abby, that’s exactly why I was really intrigued by this challenge. There’s so many older books I need to catch up on! You should still try it even if you’re bad at challenges. 🙂

    Thanks, Kay! I’m glad I’ve selected good books to read over the next year!

  4. 4 ngtlindsay September 12, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Oh I am in! You are going to love Bloody Jack! I super approve of the Ruby Oliver books – I need to read the newest one, The Treasure Map of Boys! Also, MJ MJ MJ MJ!! I’m totally going to steal some books off your list too!

  5. 5 Jill September 12, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Hooray! Be sure to post your list too when you’re ready. I want to know what you’re going to read – maybe I’ll steal some of yours! 🙂

  6. 6 ngtjennifer September 13, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Wow, I wish I was organized enough to take part in something like this……there is too much math involved for me 🙂

    I do like several of the books on the list (Go Skullduggery Pleasant!!!!) so hopefully you will enjoy them all.

  7. 7 ngtlindsay September 14, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    OK, so as it stands I have 3 books picked out for 2010, 4 from 2009, 1 from 2008, and 1 from 2007. Do you guys know of any big list of publications from these years? Or Jill did you just randomly pick books you wanted to read and then find out what year they were from?

    I’ll admit I stole 3 books from you – Runaway and Scarlett Fever (2010) and The Last Olympian (2009).

  8. 8 ngtjill September 14, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Steal away! Let me think how I made my list…I think I started with a list of books I knew I wanted to read. But then I went to ALA’s Best Books for Young Adults list to fill in the gaps.
    http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/yalsa/booklistsawards/bestbooksya/bbyahome.cfm
    But be careful if you use those lists- most (all?) of the books for 2008, for example, were published in 2007.

    Also, to make the 2010 list, I used a site my sister sent me of a sneak preview of children’s/YA books due out spring 2010. Consider yourself warned: It’s lengthy! 🙂
    http://www.publishersweekly.com/article/ca6670704.html

  9. 10 ngtlindsay September 18, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    And now that I’ve finally compiled my list….
    When I picked Stranded to read, I totally didn’t even remember that you had it on your list – I was just like, IOWA!? I WANT TO READ THIS!
    Also funny to me, the day before I saw your list I had read The London Eye Mystery, so I was all like ooooooooh spoooooky! I liked it LOTS!
    13 Reasons Why – I remember when it showed up on the new table at Borders and was confused because I read it last year (don’t get me wrong, it was good), but I always get slightly suspicious when things I know are not new are marketed as new (maybe it was new in paperback?).
    I highly approved of Love You, Kill You – Ally Carter is adorable and totally best friend-able! I can’t wait for GG4! The only reason it’s not on my 2010 list is I don’t think she’s said when it’s going to come out and she’s not even done revising it.
    I see you are also going with the first book in the Ruby Oliver series by E. Lockhart. Classy choice! I can’t wait to read the 3rd one! I just read the 2nd one, The Boy Book a couple weeks ago – super cute and super good!
    Also, MJ MJ MJ! I can’t wait until Scarlett Fever comes out! Also, did you know that she’s writing a sequel to the 13 Little Blue Envelopes? I’m super excited! Exclamation mark! !!
    And finally, Libba Bray – I know jen wasn’t overwhelmed by A Great and Terrible Beauty, but I just can’t remember not liking it! I mean, it was a couple of years ago when I first read it, but the 3rd book, The Sweet Far Thing was soooooooo good!
    OMG I’m so excited for all these books! You must must must let me know how you feel about all of them, especially the ones I just mentioned!

  10. 11 Jill September 19, 2009 at 8:24 am

    I’m glad you liked The London Eye Mystery! I’ve been wanting to read it for AGES. I may have to revise my list if that Ally Carter book doesn’t come out next year. It was hard to pick ones for 2010. I’ll write mini-reviews about the books I finish if you do!!! 🙂


  1. 1 ngtjill: Book Review #3 « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on January 18, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Leave a Reply

