Isn’t It Ironic?

Is it considered irony if you decide to use your “Buy 1, get the second 50% off” coupon for Borders on When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead and Graceling by Kristin Cashore, go to THREE Borders stores because none of them have Graceling, end up buying When You Reach Me and The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan, only to come home and find out you received an ARC for When You Reach Me in the mail?

But on the bright side, I saw the Oscar Mayer Wienermobile while driving home today.   🙂

800px-wienermobile-bologna

– Jill

3 Responses to “Isn’t It Ironic?”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer August 19, 2009 at 8:55 am

    No way! You got an arc of When You Reach Me! I am so jealous!!! I have to go buy that book right now!

    I think the Percy Jackson book was a good choice…..each one gets better and better……hmmmmm…why don’t I own those books yet??

  2. 2 Abby August 19, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Well, now you have one to keep and one to pass on to someone else who will love it! Or you can order Graceling and exchange your extra copy of When You Reach Me. 🙂

    (I can’t believe that Borders doesn’t have Graceling, but I’d bet it’s because the paperback comes out Sept. 7. They probably sent their hardcovers back in preparation.)

  3. 3 ngtjill August 20, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Abby, I AM selfishly considering exchanging my copy for Graceling. 🙂 Your theory about sending back hardcovers to prepare for paperbacks makes sense. I was stunned when I couldn’t find it anywhere. I know it’s popular!

    Jen, about a month ago I found a place online to enter for an ARC. It seemed a little strange, and I wasn’t sure it was legit, or I would definitely have spread the word. I guess I should have since it was!

    I’m going to start reading the book tonight. I’m super-excited after hearing how much you both loved it!


Leave a Reply

