ALA! It Should Stand For Awesome, Literally Awesome

Right now, at this very moment, librarians from all over the country are gathered together in Chicago to celebrate just how great it is to be us at the American Library Association Conference.  I was lucky enough to go on Saturday and attend the exhibits, which let’s face it, are the best part about the whole thing.  For those who don’t know, the exhibits take place in a huge, HUGE room where vendors set up booths about everything from library furniture and library cards, to bubbly shoe inserts.  But mostly it is filled with publishers hawking their BIG things for the fall and giving out free advanced copies of books.

Now I went to ALA with one goal in mind………I was going to get my hands on a copy of Catching Fire by Suzaane Collins.  I tried not to get my hopes up too high because I didn’t want to be disappointed, but really that is the only thing I wanted.

My plan was simple.  As soon as the exhibits opened at 9:00 I was going to run to the Scholastic booth and knock down anything that got in my way.  Luckily, it didn’t come down to me throwing elbows, but I did RUN to the booth.  When I got there I asked as politely as I could while huffing and puffing, “excuse me, do you have any copies of Catching Fire?”  The woman looked a little startled, but that is to be expected since they were still setting up the booth and I came charging at her like a rampaging rhinoceros.  She told me that they were giving them out at 10:00 so I asked where I could stand in line to wait because I wasn’t going anywhere.  That is how I came to be first in line when they started handing them out!!!!!

Since I knew 3 minutes into the day that I was actually going to achieve my goal, I was floating on air and pretty oblivious to everything else that happened.

Here is me right after I got my book.  I look like I am going to eat it.

Notice how I have magically picked up swag while standing in line.

Notice how I have magically picked up swag while standing in line.

Here are Abby, Steph, and Liz getting ready to grab their copies.  I love the look on Steph’s face.

Wheeee!

Wheeee!

I had so much fun walking around the rest of the day collecting free books in a wild frenzy of craziness.  My right shoulder has a huge line of broken blood vessels from where I carried my books around, but it was totally worth it.  Here is a picture of my haul.

stacks

I love this because the cover looks like it is really on fire.

I love this because the cover looks like it is really on fire.

Some notable titles are the new Gordon Korman Pop, the fourth Bayern book by Shannon Hale, the third Skulduggery Pleasant book by Derek Landy, and the third Cat Royal book by Julia Golding (finally!!!).

I am still at a loss for words to describe the day, but Abby does a good job over at her blog.  I had a great time with my friends and hopefully didn’t embaress myself too much in front of my colleagues.

I’m already looking forward to next year!!!

Jen

5 Responses to “ALA! It Should Stand For Awesome, Literally Awesome”


  1. 1 ngtjill July 12, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    OMG, I am so jealous of your swag! I’m sad I missed ALA this year, but I’m glad you had an awesome time!

  2. 2 Abby July 13, 2009 at 6:41 am

    SO AWESOME! I’m already looking forward to next year!

  3. 3 ngtlindsay July 13, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    So. Freaking. Jealous.

  4. 4 ngtlindsay July 13, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    I love how I was too lazy to sign in to leave a comment. And then after I left it I realize I would have to approve it. So I signed in and am leaving another comment.

    Still INCREDIBLY jealous!

  5. 5 Megan July 13, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    I’m waiting for a friend’s ARC of Catching Fire! So jealous you got to go to ALA (I’ll guess I’ll just have to settle for playing with my baby).


Leave a Reply

