Batman Blog: Part One

OK, I just had to post because I’m thinking of posting right now, but I know I shouldn’t.  So I decided to split this up into 2 (or more, who knows?) parts.  

So last night I watched Batman.  The first one.  From the late 80’s.  I’d never seen it and so my husband put his foot down and said it was a classic and it was a crime that I hadn’t see it and so we were going to watch it (gosh darn it).  

And so we did.  It was a full 2 hours of CRAP.  Yes, you read that right.  I thought Batman was CRAP.  The only part I liked was Jack Nicholson as The Joker.  Jack was so great!  And that circus music and dancing and stuff – that was just great.  I loved it.  

I think the real reason I hated it so much was the love story part.  I thought it was rather stalkerish than lovey dovey, and in part 2 I will expound on this further.  But for now, I will just say:

BATMAN IS A SUCKY ASS MOVIE.

Seriously, if you disagree with me, think about when you first saw it.  Maybe it’s because the first Batman movie I saw was The Dark Knight.  That movie was effing awesome – great acting, great sets, realistic explosions and effects (no it’s not really fair to compare special effects of late 80’s to the late 00’s, but still).  So I guess I should really blame The Dark Knight for setting my expectations so high.  But seriously, go watch it again.  I dare you not to be creeped out by Bruce and Vicky and their weird ass fatal attraction to each other.  Girlfriend has really got to get some more self esteem if you ask me.  And 108 pounds?  I wanted to kick her in the freaking face.

More later,

ngtlindsay

 

Ill still watch more Batman, if only to see if it gets better.

I'll still watch more Batman, if only to see if it gets better.

 

Trying to look like princess bride barbie, but really looking like a douchebag.

Trying to look like princess bride barbie, but really just achieving the look of a douchebag. "I'm smart because I'm posing in front of books. I take photos btw. LOL."

……can you tell I really really really hated Vicki Vale in this movie? Because if you didn’t realize by now….wait. No it’s not possible to not have picked up on my Vicki Vale sucks vibes.

4 Responses to “Batman Blog: Part One”


  1. 1 jobonga July 12, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    I have to agree even though I don’t want to. I too thought the original Batman was a classic from my childhood until I actually watched it again. Now I am afraid to revisit Roger Rabbit.

  2. 2 ngtlindsay July 12, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    THANK YOU! Andrew was all “This is such a great movie! It’s a classic!” And then we watched it. All 120ish craptastic minutes of it.
    But seriously – worst parts = Vicki Vale and Bruce Wayne’s hair.

  3. 3 ngtamber July 14, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    hmmm, it has been a few years since I’ve seen it last…but I bet I’ll still love it. Don’t worry, Jobonga, Roger Rabbit is just as good as it always was.

  4. 4 Rooney July 21, 2009 at 5:42 am

    If you wake up in the night to find an angry Batman threatening you with a Batarang, you deserve it! 😉

    That film IS a classic! I watched it a few years back, and it’s lost none of it’s appeal to me. However, since you watched Dark Knight before that, I suppose I can understand your not liking it.

    But still, watch out for angry Michael Keatons…. 😉

    Rooney


Leave a Reply

