Tim Burton Knows Just How To Intrigue And Terrify Me

I will start this out by saying that I love Johnny Depp.  I especially love Johnny Depp when he is working with Tim Burton.  I enjoy Edward Scissorhands, Corpse Bride, and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  Their latest undertaking is Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland.

Now Alice in Wonderland is a very trippy book in itself.  Have you actually read it???  Lewis Carroll was one crazy dude (who may or may not have had impure thoughts about the ‘real’ little Alice).  Well, I think, based on the photos that were just released, Tim Burton is not going to shy away from the weird parts.  There probably won’t be any happily singing flowers in this version…..if there are flowers, they will be shreiking in terror.

First of all, Johnny Depp looks exactly like Elijah Wood.  For some reason this is really really scary to me.

Johnn Depp as the Mad Hatter

Johnn Depp as the Mad Hatter

Then there is the image that is definitely going to give me nightmares tonight…..I can’t believe this is Helena Bonham Carter.

Helena Bonham Carter as the Red Queen

Helena Bonham Carter as the Red Queen

And then there is one of my favorite actresses…..the gorgeous and stunning Anne Hathaway…..who is going to look really awesome in this movie.

Anne Hathaway as the White Queen

Anne Hathaway as the White Queen

The movie also has Alan Rickman (Yippee!) Michael Sheen (Hurray!!) and Christopher Lee (Wow!!).  So even though I will have to peek through my fingers whilst covering my eyes the whole time, I will be there in the front row to see this movie.

Jen

4 Responses to “Tim Burton Knows Just How To Intrigue And Terrify Me”


  1. 1 kay June 22, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    I posted about the exact same thing today! I’m so excited about this movie, I’m really trying to lower my expectations so that I don’t get disappointed (although, I really trust Burton and Depp!)

    It’s true that Depp here looks a little like Elijah Wood! That’s funny! But there is so much make up and stuff going on, he doesn’t look like himself at all!

  2. 2 ngtjennifer June 23, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    It almost looks like they have so much going on makeup and costume-wise that they might not be able to move, let alone act.

    And is it just me, or does the Red Queen kind of look like a bobble head doll?

  3. 3 ngtjill June 24, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Red Queen DOES look like a bobble head doll. I read an article today that said they are going to digitally enhance her head to like 3 times its normal size. Creeeeeepy.

  4. 4 ngtjennifer June 25, 2009 at 8:38 am

    Oh wow Jill! I’m going to have to see it just so I can see what that looks like!


Leave a Reply

