Jill’s Day 1 Update

So far so good for today!  Here’s what my day was like:

12:00-2:00   Finished Specials by Scott Westerfeld while eating lunch (218 pages; 1 hr, 45 min)

— possibly better than Pretties since this moved faster & things actually happened, but I’m generally just glad to finally be done with the trilogy.  Loved the concept for the series, but three long books was a bit much for me.

2:00-3:15      Read part of Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie by Jordan Sonnenblick (1 hr, 15 min)

— FANTASTIC book!  Go read it.  But be prepared to cry-at least get a teary.  Multiple times – at least teary, maybe not sobbing every time.  Don’t get me wrong though.  It’s funny, quirky, sweet, and has a fantastic 12-year-old narrator named Steven who loves to drum and is trying to figure out girls.  Unfortunately, his 4-year-old brother gets lukemia.  Throughout the story Steven tells how he, his brother, and their family cope.  It was really good.  And I just discovered that there will be a sequel soon!  Also, on the author’s website is curriculum for this book, which is pretty awesome.

3:15-4:00     Took a break from reading to do some online job-searching & listen to HP6 (45 min)

4:00-6:30    Finished Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie (273 pages; 2 hrs, 30 min)

6:30-7:30    Dinner & Wii break

7:30-8:15    Socializing- reading blogs, twittering, etc. (45 min)

8:15-9:15    Started Devilish by Maureen Johnson (1 hr)

— Started out slow but then picked up.  Includes supernatural elements – demons, angels – but not too overly strange.  I did start to lose a little interest toward the end though.

9:15-9:30   Socializing (15 min to complete the hour)

9:30-11:15  Finished Devilish (263 pgs; 1 hr, 45 min)

12:10-12:40  Blogging! (30 min)

 

TOTAL for today:  10.5 hours and 754 pages

Whew, that was way better than I expected!  Which is good since I ended up making plans for tomorrow and won’t be devoting the day to reading after all.  🙂

7 Responses to “Jill’s Day 1 Update”


  1. 1 Abby June 7, 2009 at 8:37 am

    I hate to bring this up, but you know there’s a fourth book in the trilogy, right? EXTRAS. I felt the same way you did when I finished SPECIALS… I liked them, but I didn’t like SPECIALS or PRETTIES as much as I had liked UGLIES. But I did really like EXTRAS (although that came out probably a year or so after I finished reading the trilogy, so a break probably helped me to like it more).

    ANYhoo. Great reading!

  2. 2 Liyana June 7, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Keep up the good work!

  3. 4 Moniq June 7, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    I was just going to point out that there is one more book in the trilogy. But Abby beat me to it.

    I finished it during this Challenge. I have to say that I liked it better than the other books. But I agree, the series is not that good.

  4. 5 ngtjennifer June 7, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Yea Jill!!! I read Drums, Girls and Dangerous Pie too, but unfortunately that was one of the books that I read over the course of 10 days and I never seem to like books that take me forever to read.

    I thought that Extras was just literally an “extra” book and didn’t deal with the other characters from the first three books. I definitely won’t be reading it either way.

  5. 6 ngtjill June 7, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Thanks for letting me know about Extras, Abby & Moniq. I knew about it, but I didn’t think it was really connected to the others, so I was hoping to not have to read it since it didn’t interest me as much. But since you both got through it and liked it, I think I’ll give it a try…after a break from the series! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by Liyana and Steph! I hope you both got some good reading in this weekend.

    Jen, you should totally give Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie another shot when you can get through it faster! I know what you mean though. I don’t like books that take me too long to get through either.

  6. 7 ngtjennifer June 7, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Yeah, I still want to read his other books, which is a good sign, so I will probably have to revisit that.


Leave a Reply

