Jen is Done!!!

Even though my time isn’t technically up until 6:30 tonight, I am definitely done.  This challenge has wiped me out.

Since I am very excited to get back to my normal life of watching tv and being an all around lazy fool (and lounging around in my brand new air conditioning) this will be brief.

Last night:

9:16-9:41 Blog blog blog

9:41-10:57 Finally finished The Lincolns!!  Huzzah!!!

When I read the quote on the 2nd to last page about Mary Lincoln (something about a crazy woman lurks inside) I couldn’t help but think of the story Candace Fleming told that went along with it.  The story was perfect and touching and too long to go into here, but it was one of the things that made me love her (both Mary Lincoln and Candace Fleming).

9:40-11:41 Specials by Scott Westerfeld  (opinion below contains spoilers)

Ugh.  So glad to be done with these books (I am NOT reading Extras).  This quote pretty much sums up how I felt about the main character Tally: “This was the final price of her massive ego.”  Yep, that was my entire opinion of her, just one big massive ego.  I also didn’t like how everyone thought she was so awesome because she could think for herself and she changed her own mind.  But really, when you think about it, she only ever changed because of the BOYS around her.  She never thought for herself, she needed help from the guys in the story to help her realize what she needed to do.  It was pretty much the opposite of the classic beauty and the beast story.  She changes for the better because of the men around her.  Great message.  Also, I was really pissed off at the ending.  I would have been much happier if Tally would have wasted away in that tiny cell for the rest of her hundred years.  Yeah, that’s right, I can be cruel to fictional characters.

11:41-1:00  And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

1:45-2:16   “”            “”

This was a rather broken up reading experience first because I ate lunch in between and also because my landlord came over to install my window air conditioner.  He’s a very nice guy but not a great landlord.  He hasn’t cashed any of my rent checks and he totally knocked over and chipped one of my pitchers while trying to install the air conditioner.  Thank God that’s over.

Anyway, I loved this book!!!  The beginning was very slow and I almost stopped about 13 pages in, but then they got to the island and things took off.  I don’t usually like horror movies, but reading this book felt like watching one.  It was super suspenseful and I had no idea what was going on.  Very very good.

2:33-4:00  Assassination Vacation by Sarah Vowell

I have wanted to read all of Sarah Vowell’s stuff ever since I saw her extra feature on The Incredibles DVD (she played the voice of the daughter Violet).  She comes across as a little crazy in the book, but crazy in a good way.  It is all about how she travels to different places that deal with the assassinations of Presidents Lincoln, Garfield, and McKinley.  It is hilarious and informative and all around awesome.  I’m not done with it yet, but I’ll hopefully finish it soon.  I also have two of her other books checked out too so I am looking forward to those as well.

So not including this last blog (which is just too much math for my brain to handle), here are my totals

Total books:  7.5

Total hours: 20 hours 12 minutes!!!!

Yea!!!  I think all my math is correct, I can’t vouch for it right now because I am a little loopy, but now I am going to go eat a Buster Bar from Dairy Queen and lots of potato chips.

Jen

14 Responses to “Jen is Done!!!”


  1. 1 Abby June 7, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Woooo! 20-hour club!! I’m still going… I think I need like 4 or 5 more hours to hit my 20-hour goal. Sorry you didn’t like UGLIES! 😦

  2. 2 ngtlindsay June 7, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    Jen, you are amazing.

  3. 3 jobonga June 7, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Hooray for Agatha Christie! That’s one of my favorites. I am partial to her Poirot series (the Miss Marple mysteries always seem less exciting – only the kind of things an older lady encounters in her older-lady life. And everyone is so patronizing to her – it gets me down.) but even better I think are the unaffiliated mysteries like And Then There Were None. Other classics – Murder on the Orient Express; The Mousetrap.

  4. 4 Saints and Spinners June 7, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Congratulations on making the 20 hour club! I think I could have squeaked in had I not chosen to sleep in on Saturday and Sunday (by sleep in, I mean not get up early to fit in more hours), but at a certain point, I just felt I had put in what I could put in.

    I’m glad to have done the challenge, but I am sure grateful that I don’t have to read that way every day. It’s one thing if there’s a book I simply don’t want to put down (i.e. Graceling), but when it’s a book about the history of salt, no matter fascinating that history is, I need a break.

  5. 5 MotherReader June 7, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    Welcome to the 20+ club! Your membership card will come in the mail. Okay, not really. But great reading!

  6. 6 Steph June 7, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Awesome! 🙂 And thanks for your opinion of the Westerfield book — it confirms what I already thought; it doesn’t sound like my cup of tea.

  7. 7 ngtjennifer June 7, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    Hmmm, that’s the second Poirot recommendation, so I am definitely going to have to read some of those next.

    And Abby, I did like Uglies, but I just didn’t like where the series went from there. And I think after reading the last two it changed my opinion of the first book, if that makes any sense.

    Thanks for the Congrats and good luck to all the other nerdgirls!

  8. 8 ngtjill June 7, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    So many things to respond to in this post!…I totally agree about the end of Specials, but I think I just didn’t like it because she seemed to high & mighty. I get her reasoning but still. (By the way, I’m really curious now about whether Tally would be on your list of least favorite fictional characters. Perhaps a new blog idea for the nerdgirls?)

    I read And Then There Were None a long time ago, but I feel like I should reread. Also, I may steal Joanna’s suggestions for you. 🙂

    I haven’t heard of Sarah Vowell, so I’m really glad you blogged about it. I’m weirdly fascinated by Assassination Vacation. I’ll have to check out her other books too.

    And last but not least — CONGRATULATIONS! You’ve made it even though you’re sick & everything!!!

  9. 9 ngtjill June 7, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Hmm, wait a minute, did Sarah Vowell come to Iowa City somewhat recently? Now her name is starting to sound familiar. Anyone?

  10. 10 ngtjennifer June 7, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Oh that would make me sad if she was just in Iowa City! One of my favorite experiences as a librarian was when I was in Barrington there was this 10 year old boy who asked for help finding one of her books. He’d read all of them and just wanted to read his favorite one again. He was so well spoken and polite that I thought he probably understood the books better than most adults.

    Also, that is the perfect description of Tally “high and mighty.” She got to be sooooooooooo irritating by the time Specials started that I just hoped she would die in a fiery explosion that killed everyone in Pretty Town. I was sad when that didn’t happen.

  11. 11 Liyana June 8, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Great job, I hope to see you participating again next year!

  12. 12 Katy June 8, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Congrats! Loved And Then There Were None

  13. 13 ngtjennifer June 8, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    I will definitely do it again next year!!

  14. 14 Natasha @ Maw Books June 8, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Congrats on finishing the challenge!


Leave a Reply

