First Day Totals For the 48 Hour Book Challenge

So I started reading today at 6:30 and this is what I’ve done so far (and some things might be a little spoilery from here on out):

6:30-9:00  Pretties by Scott Westerfeld

I read Uglies a few days ago and really enjoyed it a lot.  I liked the set up of the world Tally lived in and all of the ways it tied in to the society we live in right now.  The book really made me think about whether I would be more like Shay or Tally and I couldn’t help but think I would be much more concerned with being Pretty than actually thinking for myself.

Well, I tried to like Pretties, but I just don’t think I did.  I’m going to go on and read Specials and probably Extras too since it doesn’t take much time to finish the books, but my heart won’t be in it.  I just really stopped liking Tally in this book.  I can’t put my finger on what it was about her, but I totally did not care what happened to her at all.  I felt like the book replayed exactly what happened in Uglies.  Tally makes bad choices–bad things happen to people around Tally–everyone gets mad because Tally is so “lucky”–everything around Tally falls apart—they are right back where they started at the beginning of the book, except for the fact that it’s much worse.

I don’t know….something about it just rubbed me the wrong way.  Maybe everything will tidy itself up in Specials, but my hopes are not high.  I think I will have to read that one tomorrow because I don’t think I would be able to tackle it on Sunday when I am worn out and tired of reading.

9:00-10:50 The Body in the Library by Agatha Christie

I have never read an Agatha Christie book before, so I thought I would give it a whirl.  I enjoyed this one, even though I am not big on mysteries.  I didn’t realize it was a Miss Marple mystery until I was a few pages in.  It’s interesting because she wasn’t really in the book all that much.  She just showed up occasionally to talk about how awful people can be and then came in at the end to point out how obvious the killer(s) were.  There were a lot of characters to keep straight, but it was a nice quick read and now I know what all the fuss is about.  I might have to Netflix some of the Miss Marple movies from PBS because she is quite the feisty character.  Gotta love the old spinster who doesn’t take any guff from anyone.  I should take some pointers from her.

10:50-12:00  The Lincolns by Candace Fleming

I love Candace Fleming!  I have seen her several times in person and each time she is so cute and charming and just plain fun to listen to.  After hearing her speak about this book I knew I had to read it sometime, and I am enjoying it so far.  It is slow going compared to reading the other books, but there is a lot more going on that I want to savor.  I might spread this book out over the weekend to break up the fiction reading.  So far I have learned about Abraham and Mary’s early lives and they just got married.  I love reading about the lighter side of Abraham, especially all of the little quotes and stories about him that she includes.

12:00-12:30  Catching up on everybody’s blogs and writing my own.

Now I have to go to bed so I can run errands like a crazy person tomorrow morning.  Up next reading wise is going to be The Demigod Files audiobook, probably Airhead, and maybe Once Upon a Marigold.

Jen

P.S.  The reviews above are examples of why I don’t write book reviews very often.

P.P.S.  I literally just spelled write as “wright.”  I think I need to go to bed.

3 Responses to “First Day Totals For the 48 Hour Book Challenge”


  1. 1 ngtamber June 6, 2009 at 12:49 am

    hahaha, I think in my 5 hours I literally only read 130 pages of my book… and you read what 3 books? Thank Gosh this isn’t a competitish on quantity of books 🙂 And Miss Marple and St. Mary Mead is adorable, but I usually prefer Hercule Poirot’s sense of humor. I suggest you download the free Agatha Christie Radio Mysteries podcast–they are all acted out in ol’ radio style which is FANTASTIC.

  2. 2 ngtlindsay June 6, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    GO JEN GO JEN GO JEN!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer June 6, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    Ooooh, I’ll have to look into that podcast thing….

    And yeah, I guess I can read pretty fast, but it is one of the only things I do well…..you Amber, on the other hand are uber talented in many areas, so savoring a book while you read it is not something to be ashamed of.


Leave a Reply

