I’ve been such a little dead girl!

so I haven’t blogged in like 6 months…

and my excuse is that I was making a Book and getting all graduated and such! not a very good excuse, because seriously, I could have blogged anyway…lame of me. So now all of the blogs that I wrote in my head during those cold, hard months will come spilling out and seem extremely outdated and irrelevant. whoops!

But here is my book anyway!

Introduction from The Rainy Day Book for Little Dead Girls

Introduction from The Rainy Day Book for Little Dead Girls

It’s the Rainy Day Book for Little Dead Girls! I’m the dark, gothic one of the nerdgirls, hahahahaha… Here was my Artist’s Statement (the first official one I have ever had to write!):

The Rainy Day Book for Little Dead Girls is an activity book aimed particularly at little girls living in a graveyard—an often overlooked demographic in the publishing and toy industries. I wanted to give them something soft, girly, and personal—a portal into their own exploration into what it means to have died. The book is meant to feel like a Victorian, homemade gift book to imply both innocence and a standstill of time; it is cherished by the little dead girl forever as she cannot outgrow it.

Several of my research and artwork projects in the past several years have dealt a light-hearted, child-like attitude towards death and melancholy. The Rainy Day Book for Little Dead Girls is an examination of the relationship between children and death and the morbid whimsy surrounding the child who never grows up. Children are just as fascinated with the concept of death as adults, but it is often out of curiosity with little to no accompanying discomfort. Many of themes of children’s books by Roald Dahl, Lemony Snicket and Neil Gaiman would be classified as Horror in books written for adults.

Me holding my book at the show! Notice the dead flowers behind me, the girl at HyVee was a little freaked out when I asked to buy flowers I could kill quickly... Oh, and thanks to Kat Tandy for this photo!

Me holding my book at the show! Notice the dead flowers behind me: the girl at HyVee was a little freaked out when I asked to buy flowers I could kill quickly... Oh, and thanks to Kat Tandy for this photo!

I got to present the book at a REAL gallery show with REAL artists (aka the other amazing ladies who were finishing their Center For the Book certificates)!!!

And after the show, Nerdgirl Jen and Nerdgirl Jill and the spirit of Nerdgirl Lindsay took me to see 17 Again and it was awesome.

I did quick scans of the innards of the book that you can view here. Beware of a long downloading time.

okay now on to more important things. like posting about Leakycon.

amber

3 Responses to “I’ve been such a little dead girl!”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay June 4, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    #1 I like the new banner! But yeah, seriously we need to get a pic of all 4 of us up there.

    #2 Yay for gradumutation! I would v. much like to see your book!!

    #3 YOu and me both buddy. I have been a terrible poster also. Thank goodness for Jill and Jen!!!

  2. 2 Jill June 4, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Hooray for a post from ngtamber! Your book was soooo awesome, and you looked so great with your dress and the lace and dead flowers. You think of everything!


  1. 1 How evil is your library card? « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on April 13, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Leave a Reply

