Stuff plus dogs.

Hey guys!

So I’m not even sure when the last time I posted actually was.  I probably could check but I think we all know that I am just too lazy to do that.  I feel like it’s been at LEAST a month, maybe even two.  Who really knows?  I sure don’t.

 

You took my book?

You took my book?

 

So what have I been doing in lieu of posting on the NGB site?  Besides working (best job ever – the other day I got to use a jigsaw and hammer….and I work in a Biochem lab!) I’ve been watching a lot of How I Met Your Mother (LEGEN wait for it DARY!)  writing, and training for my upcoming Half Marathon.  

 

Ready for a run?  Dont forget your hat!

Ready for a run? Don't forget your hat!

 

Hahahahahaha.  I hear you all laughing and saying that I am too lazy to run a half marathon.  Also that this is probably my late attempt at an April Fool’s joke (because I am too lazy to remember that that was April 1).  Well, surprisingly enough I am not joking about the 1/2 marathon.  I really am going to show up on race day, with a legit number and everything.  Sure I will not run the whole thing, because really?  13.1 miles?  I mean, sure, maybe in a year or so I could run it without walking, but really I am only up to a little over 2 miles.  I’ll end up walking over half of this sucker.  But whatever.  As long as I finish in 4 hours or less I’m okay.

 

Do you like this color on me?

Do you like this color on me?

 

This makes me wonder.  What will they do if I do not finish in 4 hours?  Will they take away my participation medal?  Will they take my t-shirt away?  Will they give me back my registration fee?  I mean seriously, the 4 hours rule is just lame.  I’m tempted to get to the finish line and then sit there until the clock reads 4:00:01 and then cross.  Then I’ll be all like, “What are you going to do about it?”

 

This is definitely the right color for me!

This is definitely the right color for me!

 

Switching gears, I absolutely LOVE How I Met Your Mother.  The hubby and I are on the 3rd disc of the second season.  Barney is Andrew’s favorite character.  While I love Barney, I think my favorite character is Marshall.  He is fantastic at playing the lovable goofy guy.  He just melts my heart with his superb acting skills.  He is adorkable personified I believe.  As for Robin and Ted.  Well…don’t ruin it for me!  Right now they’re dating but I know that later on they’re not together.  I saw a more recent episode where Barney was trying to sleep with Robin and Ted was about to marry Eliot for Scrubs (I know that he didn’t though).  I can’t wait to get Season 3 though!!

 

We are going treasure diving.  I love pearls.

We are going treasure diving. I love pearls.

 

And then there’s this whole writing deal.  I started with this back in October when I was unemployed.  One day I decided to start writing about my horrific junior high experience (yes, it was truly horrific).  I even tried (read: Failed) to do NaNoWriMo.  Later on I realized that this first story I was writing just didn’t feel right to me.  So I started a new story with characters in high school.  That one I outlined and backstoried for about a month and a half.  I never actually started writing that one.  

 

No fair, you got the better swing!  You lose you snooze.

"No fair, you got the better swing!" "You lose you snooze."

 

Then I started to think about writing children’s books.  I have about a page worth of story for one, and half a story for another one.  Then I started thinking about my high school story that I had been outlining for so long.  In other words, I had a major case of writing ADD.

 

 

Dont look at me!  Look at me!  Im beautiful.

Don't look at me! Look at me! I'm beautiful.

 

 

But going back to the high school story, I realized that to start the story at that point in time would almost be confusing.  The relationship between my antagonist and protagonist would not really be understood.  Also, I didn’t want people to misunderstand my antagonist.  She’s not really a witch deep down.  She can be nice.  And all of the sudden I started the story of how she and my main character grew apart.

 

Were you even listening when I said I didnt like broccoli?  You insult me.

Were you even listening when I said I didn't like broccoli? You insult me.

 

So now I have been working on this same story, set in 6th grade, for a couple of weeks now.  I am happy to report that I have 2 full chapters finished, and am working on the 3rd one now.  I believe the “age range” I am going for is middle grade.  So around 20K to 40K words.  I keep trying to outline, but I just can’t.  I don’t know why and it frustrates me.  I mean, I know how I want to the book to end and what to happen in it, but it’s just really hard outlining it all.  What I’ve been doing is getting to the end of one chapter and then all of a sudden I just know what will happen in the next chapter.  So I guess that is what I will continue doing until either I find I am able to outline the book or I up and finish it.

 

Shhh!  I need my beauty rest.

Shhh! I need my beauty rest.

 

So that’s all for now.  I was inspired to blog again because of Maureen Johnson’s BEDA (Blog Every Day April).  I know I’m a little late on the start, but w/e.  BTW, have you read her blog?  She is absolutely HILARIOUS.  Check her out – www.maureenjohnson.blogspot.com  I promise you won’t be disappointed (unless you are dead inside).  

 

Dahling, let us have a tea party.  You bring the scones.

Dahling, let us have a tea party. You bring the scones.

 

And now that I have written close to 900 words with no pictures, I will now go and add random pictures of dogs looking like people from my absolute favorite new website, dogs looking like people (google it, I’m too lazy to link this one).

 

Heyyyyyy.  s all right.  Be cool.

Heyyyyyy. 's all right. Be cool.

 

 

hearts!  lindsay

**Edited:  So after thinking about it for a while, I realized I should probably link to the original website where I saw the dog pictures.  Now if you click on any of the pictures, it should take you there, but just in case: http://dogs-looking-like-people.tumblr.com/  BRILLIANT WEBSITE!!!!

2 Responses to “Stuff plus dogs.”


  1. 1 Jill April 10, 2009 at 9:35 am

    The dog pictures on this post are fabulous! Also, I think Barney is my favorite character on HIMYM, but Marshall is probably my 2nd favorite…especially in the Game Night episode. What a great show!!

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 10, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    I am so in love with the broccoli picture!


Leave a Reply

