Cloudy With a Chance of WTF??

I can see the illustrations in my head……the detailed line drawings……the coat closet with the silverware and plate hanging on the door…….I loved the way the giant slice of pizza looked so shiny and delicious…….staring at the last page, I could almost smell the mashed potatoes too.

I am, of course, describing one of my favorite picture books, Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs by Ron and Judi Barrett.  We used to make my mom read that to us so many times that she eventually put a ban on it because it made her feel ill.  I dreamed of being able to walk outside and stare at the sky to see what I would I have for breakfast.

This is an amazing book because it still resonates with kids today.  I mean, come on, who wouldn’t love to see giant food falling from the sky.  The enormous pancake on top of the school is probably also very high on everyone’s lists.

I knew somewhere in the back of my mind that they were making a movie of it……..

Well….

There really are no words, but I will try………shocking, appalling, terrifying, horrifying, blasphemous………just watch and see for yourself.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I almost couldn’t make it through the whole thing, but at least they kept the giant pancake.

Jen

P.S.  I know there was an actual tragedy that occurred today, but being mad about something silly like this is helping take my mind off of it.

2 Responses to “Cloudy With a Chance of WTF??”


  1. 1 Abby March 18, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Um… making movies out of picture books… people need to just STOP IT. (Except maaaybe for Where the Wild Things Are…)

    But can I just say that when he belly flopped into the jello and then “…Why did I do that?” … that was funny. 🙂

    But I can’t count how many times I indignantly cried “WHAT?!” while watching that two-minute trailer. Oy.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer March 19, 2009 at 7:45 am

    I totally agree about picture books and movies……people need to stop!

    And yes, it did get much funnier and less horrible when the food showed up, but I worry that is going to be halfway through the movie.


Leave a Reply

