Allie Finkle

I know we are in full Meg Cabot mode over here at NerdGirlBlogging, so I figured I’d continue it by discussing her new series for young readers — Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls.

movingdayAllie Finkle is a 4th-grader who learns in Book 1, Moving Day, that her parents have bought a new house and she and her two younger brothers will be moving.  She has to deal with all kinds of terrible things:  a creepy new house, leaving old friends who are suddenly mean to her, being forced to abandon her rock collection, trying to be mature about the move so she can get the kitten her parents promised, and having to start a new school.

Allie Finkle #2.inddIn Book 2, The New Girl, Allie has already made a few friends at her new school, which makes it a lot easier…except for the girl who hates her for no good reason.  So now Allie has to learn to handle NEW problems like figuring out what to do about a girl who wants to beat her up for no good reason, the possibility of her future kitten being born too early, competing in a spelling bee, the tension over a stove between her mom and visiting grandmother, and being told by her amazing new teacher not to chit-chat.

Moving Day and The New Girl were both fantastic, and fit into the category of middle-reader books I’ve been reading and loving so much lately!  bestfriends1Book 3, Best Friends and Drama Queens, doesn’t come out until March, but fortunately I won an ARC from a contest Meg had on her website!  I was so excited to get it in the mail.  ARCs are fabulous!  Anyway, Best Friends and Drama Queens is my favorite of the series thus far!  This one is all about a new girl from Canada who comes to Allie’s new school and disrupts her life by chasing boys at recess.  Pretty soon she has declared Allie and her friends immature for not wanting to “go with” boys.  Allie tries her best to handle the mean things Cheyenne says, but my absolute favorite part in the book is when she just can’t take it all anymore and hides in her bedroom closet and cries.  (Who hasn’t been there?)  I don’t want to ruin the scene, so I won’t tell you any more than that, but it’s amazing.

The books are so identifiable, and I don’t know if it’s because internally I’m like a 4th grader or because Meg is so capable of creating believable characters and scenes, but I found everything very relatable.  Allie is a fantastic character.  She’s so full of spunk and independence and throughout all three books, she writes down rules to help her get through everything.  Some of my favorites:  Don’t stick a spatula down your best friend’s throat, Just because something is popular doesn’t mean it’s good, Treat your friends the way you’d want them to treat you, and It’s impolite not to bump someone’s fist when they are fist-bumping you.

Here’s a small excerpt of another of my favorite parts to get you even more excited:

Yes, I like to say boys don’t have feelings. But of course that isn’t true. They do. It’s just that boys get over their feelings faster than girls. They just feel them, and then they’re done. Whereas girls feel, and then think about their feelings, and then maybe they write about their feelings in their diaries, and then maybe they call their best friend and talk about their feelings, and then maybe they tell their kitten about their feelings, and then maybe […]

Go read it!  …Or wait until it comes out March 10th and THEN go read it!  🙂

— Jill

3 Responses to “Allie Finkle”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer February 23, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    I can’t wait to read Best Friends and Drama Queens!!!! I totally moved to a new school when I started fourth grade, so the Allie Finkle books are very special to me….unfortunately I did not make friends as fast as Allie did.

  2. 2 ngtamber February 24, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    I think boys feel things more like girls feel things as they get older–which explains why Michael never stops loving Mia. sigh. and explains why many guys I know want a kitten.

  3. 3 Jill February 24, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Jen, I bet Allie Finkle is ever more identifiable for you then because I thought she was fabulous and I never even moved anywhere when I was younger.

    And Amber, thanks for making me all happy by bringing up Michael & Mia. Now I really want to re-read Forever Princes. Or at least my favorite parts… 🙂


Leave a Reply

