The Ultimate Grilled Cheese Sandwich

grilled-cheese-invitatational-oa-1I consider myself somewhat of a grilled cheese connoisseur since whenever I go to a restaurant, it is the only thing I ever get.  Literally, I ALWAYS get grilled cheese.  It might have something to do with the fact that I am a vegetarian who doesn’t like vegetables so grilled cheese is the only thing on the menu that I can ever eat.  I sometimes ask for it even when it isn’t on the menu just because usually they are willing to make one for me.

So I can tell you where all of the fantastic places to get grilled cheese are….the best place in Iowa City by far is Mickey’s downtown…..ahhh, it makes me salivate just thinking about it.  So when I was home for Christmas and my mom said she was going to make me the “Ultimate Grilled Cheese Sandwich” I scoffed because I have eaten so many great sandwiches that it would be hard to top them all…..

Well, I was totally wrong.  This was the best sandwich I have ever had.  Period.  Now this is not for the faint of heart or the casual grilled cheese lover…..you have to be a hardcore fan in order to be able to handle it.  I am going to give the recipe in full, and then a few pointers down below.

The Ultimate Grilled Cheese Sandwich:

1 pkg (3 oz) cream cheese (softened)

3/4 cup mayonnaise

1 cup (4 oz) shredded cheddar cheese

1 cup (4 oz) shredded mozzerella cheese

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp seasoned salt

10 slices Italian bread

2 Tbs butter or margarine (softened)

In a mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, and mayonnaise until smooth.  Stir in cheeses, garlic powder and seasoned salt.  Spread 5 slices of bread with the cheese mixture (about 1/3 cup each).  Top with reamining bread.  Butter the outsides of sandwiches and cook in a large skillet over medium heat until golden brown on both sides.  Yields 5 servings.

Okay, so the recipe is kind of hard to cut in half, so the first time I would just suggest making all of it.  Whatever is left over can go in the fridge (it is surprisingly good cold in a sandwich or on crackers).  When you have made it once and you kind of know what consistensy it needs to be you can probably make one serving next time just by guessing.  I made a quick and dirty one last night just by throwing the four main ingredients together (cheese, mayo, and cream cheese) and had a cold cheese salad sandwich.

This is a wonderful, fantastic, amazing sandwich that everyone who truly loves cheese needs to try.  I never in a million years would have thought to put cream cheese or mayo on a grilled cheese sandwich, but it is truly heavenly.  So thanks to my mom for sharing it with me and the lady from her church that gave her the recipe.  I hope that at least one of you tries this and loves it as much as I do.

Jen

0 Responses to “The Ultimate Grilled Cheese Sandwich”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

