OMG, Miss Piggy is from IOWA

miss-piggy

Maybe you already knew this, but I certainly did not.  According to an article I read on CNN (which apparently originated on Mental Floss), “Frank Oz once said that Miss Piggy grew up in Iowa; her dad died when she was young and her mother was mean. She had to enter beauty contests to make money.”  Wow, I had no idea.

A few other interesting things about some Muppets:

  • Count von Count once dated Countess von Backward, who loved to count backwardcount-von-count
  • Oscar the Grouch’s voice is based on a NYC cab driver and was originally orange
    oscar
  • Waldorf (of Statler and Waldorf, the old hecklers) has a wife named Astoria
    statler-waldorf
  • Beaker does a Little Richard impression and has mad beatbox skills
    (Unfortunately I cannot find a clip of the impression or his beatbox skills, but here’s his rendition of “Ode to Joy.”  Enjoy!)

Mine might be Beaker…who is YOUR favorite Muppet?

jill

2 Responses to “OMG, Miss Piggy is from IOWA”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer February 10, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    I am totally reading Street Gang: The Complete History of Sesame Street right now!! My favorite muppets are Gonzo, Grover, Sam the Eagle, and the Swedish Chef.

  2. 2 ngtamber February 11, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I HAVE TO READ THAT BOOK! I would say that Kermit and Gonzo have my favorite singing voices. I am most like Beaker and Ernie and Janice of Electric Mayhem. But I definitely have my Miss Piggy moments. I look most like Bert. And my favorites would probably be Fozzie Bear and Grover, but that changes day to day. Life would suck without the muppets.


Leave a Reply

