I’m A Sucker For A Good Series

In my everyday life, I am quite hypocritical, but no more so, than when it comes to series books.  One of my main complaints while reading is getting to the end of a great book and realizing that it has all been a setup for a sequel.  But…..at the same time, I also get really excited when I realize that some of my favorite books have sequels coming out……I know that it makes absolutely no sense, but I think it might have to do with the fact that I sometimes feel obligated to continue reading about characters I have already been introduced to.  I know that I will most likely enjoy it, but it just adds to my huge list of books to be read.

Well, enough rambling….I really wanted to talk about some of my favorite series that have new books coming out this spring, because there are some really good ones on the horizon.

9780061345722First off, there is the newest Luxe book by Anna Godberson called Envy.  I loooooved the first book, but wasn’t really a big fan of the second.  But I will continue to read them simply because I literally cannot stop myself from picking them up because they have the most beautiful covers I have ever seen.  These books are historical fiction set around 1900 in New York.  They’re filled with sex, lies, gossip, betrayal, jealousy…..all the best stuff.

Another series that I adore is the Enola Holmes mysteries by Nancy Springer.  They follow the life of Sherlock 51cugiszafl_sl500_aa240_Holmes’ younger sister and her crime solving ways.  She has run away from her brothers because they want her to marry and be a respectable lady, but she just wants to be independent and help people who have been victims of crime.  There are four out in the series right now and the next one, The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline is due out on May 14.  These books are really excellent to read, but you should also listen to them on CD.  Katherine Kellgren reads them and she is the rock star of the audiobook world.  I listened to The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets and it is my favorite of the series (probably because she made it so fun to listen to).

51ov05hozal_sl500_aa240_Lots of people know of my love for the Cat Royal Adventures by Julia Golding, and it pains me to know that there are so many available in the UK and they are being released sooooooo slowly here in the US.  The next book, Den of Thieves, comes out on April 28 and I literally cannot wait.  Cat Royal is an orphan who lives at the Drury Lane Theater and gets into all kinds of trouble in eighteenth century London.  My favorite part about this book so far is how accurate the cover is.  In the last book, she chopped off all her hair and lo and behold, the cover represents that.  I don’t know why, but that makes me reall51ovzhovhol_sl500_aa240_y happy.

I also just finished reading the newest entry in the Suddenly Supernatural series by Elizabeth Cody Kimmel.  Scaredy Kat is totally awesome and I loved it even more than the first one.  Kat is learning more about becoming a medium and notices that the house next door to hers seems to have a lot spiritual activity going on.  My favorite part about this book was all of the new characters that were introduced (well okay, only two) and I hope they stick around for future books.

21950922Also, randomly I just read Unwind by Neal Shusterman…….and wow!  This book is unbelievably awesome……I hesitate to do this, but I am going to compare it to The Hunger Games in its intense readability.  It’s about a time in the future where abortions have been outlawed, but children between the ages of 13 and 18 can be “unwound” which basically means they are taken apart and all of their body parts are given to people who need them.  I loved the concept and the characters and the way the book explained the events that led up to the idea of “unwinding” people.  I cannot say enough times how AMAZING this book was, and I don’t want to give anything else away because it is much better if you go in not knowing too much.

Anyway, whew, I am tired……happy reading everybody!

Jen

0 Responses to “I’m A Sucker For A Good Series”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

