Savvy Got A Newbery Honor!!!

savvyThis morning the American Library Association Youth Media Award winners were announced.  There was a live webcast of the event, but apparently it was not MAC compatible (or I am an idiot, which could also be the case).  They were Twittering the events, but that kind of broken down right before the big awards.  So I had to get pieces of info from Abby’s Twitter and John Green’s Twitter……..I am still not sure of everything that happened, but the most important thing is that Savvy by my BFF Ingrid Law won a Newbery Honor!!!!!!  This is a huge deal for any author, but especially a first time author.  I am so happy for her!graveyard-book

Here are some things that stood out to me from the awards.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman won the Newbery.  This is a book I’ve actually read and even put on our Mock Newbery list for work, which makes me feel really smart.  I liked this book when I first read it, but after thinking about it there were some nitpicky things that emerged that I wasn’t fond of.  But I think it is a good safe choice for the winner because kids (especially boys) will love this book.  It is scary and spooky and has some great characters in it.

Are You Ready To Play Outside by Mo Willems won the Geisel Award (given to the most eandp1distinguished beginning reader book).  This is my second favorite Elephant and Piggie book (after last year’s winner There is a Bird on Your Head).  I think that as long as Mo keeps writing Elephant and Piggie books, he has this award (or at least an honor) in the bag.

I was also really excited that What To Do About Alice? How Alice Roosevelt Broke The Rules,9780439922319_xlg Charmed The World, And Drove Her Father Teddy Crazy by Barbara Kerley received a Sibert Honor (for nonfiction books).  This is a fantastic picture book about Alice Roosevelt that everyone needs to read because it is funny, sweet and totally awesome!!!

Another book people need to read is The Disreputable History of Frankie 25385168Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart which received a Printz Honor.  I just read this book a week ago and thought it was great…….definitely deserving of an honor.

Some notable absences were John Green’s Paper Towns and Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games……..I mean, come on people, what were you thinking????  Paper Towns was my favorite of John Green’s three books and it has been getting rave reviews….maybe the committee thought he already had enough awards.  Also, please…….The Hunger Games not getting anything???  I was kind of expecting it because it falls in that gray area where people think, is it YA or Childrens????  Oh well, I know that it was one of the best books I read this year (well ever really) and I can’t wait for the next one in September.

Hopefully they will post a list of all the winners soon and I will link to it here.

Jen

UPDATEHere is a list of al the winners.  It is not easy to read at all, but it seems to be the only place that has a complete list all in one place right now.

7 Responses to “Savvy Got A Newbery Honor!!!”


  1. 1 Danna January 26, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Oh, good, I am glad I am not the only one who lost Twitter half way through. Couldn’t even get logged into the webcast! Thanks for posting what you have so far!

  2. 2 ngtjennifer January 26, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Yeah, on their Facebook page they apologized for the Twitter thing falling apart. I am not quite sure what happened since Twitter itself was fine. I’ve added the whole list to the bottom of the post, so everybody can see ALL the winners and nominees.

  3. 3 Eric Jennings January 27, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Did you know that Neil Gaiman lives 1/2 an hour away from me and that the education librarian where I work has been over to his house before for some sort of party? I’m waiting to receive his book American Gods as it was recommended to me recently.

  4. 4 Jill January 27, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    I have been wanting to read What to Do About Alice?… for awhile, but gosh darn it, ICPL’s copy is always checked out. Someday…

    P.S. On Neil Gaiman’s website, you can listen to him read The Graveyard Book! http://www.mousecircus.com/videotour.aspx?VideoID=1

  5. 5 ngtjennifer January 27, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Wow Eric, I am so jealous of you! I am assigning you the task of trying to worm your way into his inner circle so you can become best friends with all kinds of authors and introduce them to me!

    And Jill, I heard from one of my co-workers that the audiobook is read by him and it is awesome, so I might have to go check that out.


  1. 1 Jill Finished 48hbc! « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on June 8, 2009 at 1:14 am
  2. 2 Two Awesome Books!! « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on June 6, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Leave a Reply

