I Have Officially Crossed Over…

31czrvaa7pl_ss500_I am very much looking forward to the breakfast next month when all of us get to meet Meg Cabot and squeal about how great she is.  My original plan was to be the voice of reason helping to control Amber, Lindsay, Jill, and Steph and not allow them to put themselves in a position where they might get arrested.  Well, I think that someone else (Abby, are you up for it?) is going to have to take that job, because I am going to be pushing everyone else out of the way trying to get her attention first.

I had read three Meg Cabot books in my life prior to starting the Princess Diaries series.  I loved All-American Girl and Ready or Not, so I was excited to meet her.  But I knew that I should probably try to make my way through her most famous series of books before getting spoiled on what happens while everyone is freaking out during the breakfast.  I thought I would read the first couple and see how they were and then I would decide if I should read them all………

Well………

I started reading the first one last Thursday.  I proceeded to read through the end of the fourth one by Sunday.  Tuesday I read the fifth book…….and then I finished off the rest of the series in the last 48 hours……..I am still glowing with happiness after finishing the last book.  I want to dance around outside in the snow, except it is late and dark and I live in a scary neighborhood.

I really loved these books.  Granted, Mia could be whiny and totally clueless, but looking at how she dealt with some of her situations, I have behaved very similarly so I can totally relate (although sadly, I was still whiny and immature and acting like Mia well into my 20s, which is just depressing).  The books were really hilarious and I loved how so many things kept popping up in book after book.  Here are some of my thoughts on my reading experiences in the last eleven days:

Favorite Book:  Obviously Forever Princess, no competition.  It was hilariously wonderful and totally wrapped up the series brilliantly.  I almost pulled a Lindsay and jumped up and down for the last 100 pages, but I am kind of lazy, so I settled for letting out intermitant shrieks of “EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEPPPPPPPPPP” every now and again.  I don’t think my upstairs neighbors liked it, but I have to listen to their stupid dog all the time so I don’t care.  Plus it includes possibly the best line from any book ever: “Lana says J.P. makes Matt Damon from the Bourne movies look like Oliver from Hannah Montana.”

31mslndeool_sl500_Second Favorite BookPrincess in Love was when I really fell in love with the books.  I liked the first and the second one, but the end of the third one made me all giddy and happy the way only Twilight and Harry Potter can do.  That’s when I knew I was hooked and had to make it to the end so I could feel the unabashed happiness that Jill, Amber, and Lindsay had talked about.

Least Favorite Book:  I would have to say Princess Mia was my least favorite book.  It was sad that Michael wasn’t in it at all hardly, Lilly was so mean and Mia was so depressed.  It was like New Moon but without the distraction of Jacob (because I totally knew *Spoiler Alert* that there was something fishy about J.P. from the beginning).

Favorite Character:  Duh, Michael…..obviously.  At first I liked the Michael from the movie better, because when I started the first book I was like, what??  who is this guy who walks around with his shirt off all the time, that’s not Michael???  But then there was the moment (and I can’t remember exactly when it was) but I think it had something to do with Josh Richtor when Michael and Lars exchanged a significant look or something and I was totally won over by book Michael.  He was all protective about Mia’s feelings (but not in a creepy Edward Cullen way).

So anyway, it is getting kind of late and I should probably go to bed so I can get up early and see who wins the Printz, Caldecott, Newbery, etc. like the good librarian that I am.  Or maybe instead of going to bed, I can search eBay to see if anyone is selling the complete Princess Diaries Collection…..hmmmm….. must go check.

Jen

P.S.  Lindsay, I know I said I would call you when I finished the last book, but it is really late and you probably have to work tomorrow, but I will call you soon.

9 Responses to “I Have Officially Crossed Over…”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay January 26, 2009 at 12:36 am

    ahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahaha!!!! I knew you would totally love the books!!
    I totally have to disagree with you though about Princess Mia (#9) being the “worst” (yeah, like Meg Cabot could even write a bad book). Sure, it really sucked that Michael wasn’t in the book (I would have been sad about Lilly not really being in it, but Lilly was being a total and complete byotch in book 8, so i wasn’t too upset about that), but seriously – I totally bawled as I read that book. Great stuff!!

  2. 2 ngtlindsay January 26, 2009 at 12:39 am

    Ooooh, what other Meg Cabot book have you read? You said All American Girl and Ready or Not (I love Sam!), but what other book have you read!? Jinx? Pants on Fire? Teen Idol? How to be Popular?
    Oooh, you should go read her Allie Finkle books – they are ADORABLE.
    Also, her 1-800-Missing books are super fun! And her Mediator series too! I LOVE MEG CABOT!!!
    Eeeep!!!!!!!!! We get to meet her in February!!!!!!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer January 26, 2009 at 9:40 am

    The other book I’ve read is Teen Idol. I liked that one too, but not as much as the others. I am definitely going to read as many of her other books as possible. I have Ransom My Heart on reserve at the library and next I am probably going to read some of her adult books. And even though Princess Mia was my least favorite, I still liked it because of all the stuff with Princess Amelie’s diary.

  4. 4 ngtlindsay January 26, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    Ooooh, you should read Size 12 is not fat, and the other books in the heather wells series. soooo good!!

  5. 5 Jill January 27, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Hooray, I’m glad you’ve joined us in our crazy love for Princess Diaries!! I have to agree with Lindsay about Princess Mia…it’s probably my 2nd favorite! I mean, yes, it’s sad that she’s depressed, and Michael’s not in it much, and Lilly’s horrible, but I love Dr. Knutz and Tina. Plus, to me, it was like reading a self-help book only way, way better. 🙂

    I am reading the first Allie Finkle book, and it is adorable. I keep thinking I’m going to start hearing Mia’s voice in it, but Allie is definitely unique.

  6. 6 ngtjennifer January 27, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Well, when I go through the series again sometime…..which probably won’t be that far in the future, I will reconsider my thoughts on Princess Mia and give it another chance. I do love Tina!!! She is pretty much me in high school (or even me right now for that matter).

  7. 7 ngtamber January 28, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    love you all.

  8. 8 Raven September 15, 2009 at 4:38 am

    MICHAELMICHAELMICHAEL! He’s the perfect boyfriend. Even better than Edward, and that’s saying a lot. I agree, Edward can be a little intense sometimes. Michael’s got a great sense of humour. Never liked JP. In fact, disliked him so much I didn’t read those books where he was with Mia. How could Mia have let Michael go?! But at least (spoiler alert!) she found her happy ending with Michael. MICHAEL AND MIA ALL THE WAY!

  9. 9 nina September 23, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Oooh, Michael is totally awesome. I love all he did in Forever Princess to get Mia back.


Leave a Reply

