Just A Few Quick Recommendations

I’m sorry that I haven’t posted in so long…I’ve been going back and forth to Iowa and working all the time so it feels like I haven’t had a moment to spare.  I have been reading like crazy lately, but there haven’t been too many books that have jumped out as being great.  I have read some “great” books, but they were kind of depressing and not really very fun, so I am not going to recommend them.

But there are a couple of books that I think you guys will like, so I will mention them here.  (I totally could have done a video blog, but I feel kind of on the verge of sickness, and am not really in the video blog mood).

28741303Impossible by Nancy Werlin is a book I read a long time ago, and I can’t believe I haven’t talked about it yet.  I met Nancy Werlin at the Young Adult Literature conference that I went to in September….and she was awesome!!!!  I bought her book first thing in the morning because I vaguely remembered reading a good review of it, and the cover is incredible.  Then she gave her talk in the afternoon and she brought me to tears.  This book is a really great story for anyone who likes Twilight.  That’s right I said it, a Twilight read alike.  It has nothing to do with vampires or werewovles, but it reminded me of Breaking Dawn (and I loved Breaking Dawn so that is not a bad thing).  I think the book trailer below describes the plot better than I ever could, but I will just mention that my favorite part about this book was how Lucy’s family rallied around her and supported her throughout the whole ordeal.  She is faced with three impossible tasks and most people would have thought she was crazy, but her family sticks by her.  Nancy Werlin said that she has written many books about what happens when the people you love let you down….this one was about what happens when they don’t.

Another book that I loved is Palace of Mirrors by Margaret Peterson Haddix.  When I lived in Iowa City, I went through a whole n252547Margaret Peterson Haddix reading rampage and read a ton of her books.  I really liked all of them.  Her newest is Palace of Mirrors, which is a companion novel to Just Ella (but you don’t have to read Just Ella in order to understand everything).  Palace of Mirrors is about a girl named Cecilia who is the true princess of her land.  When she was a baby the king and queen were murdered so in order to keep the princess safe, she was taken away to live as a peasant and a “fake” princess was left at the palace in her place.  Cecelia has been training her whole life to take her place on the throne…but when she finally goes to the palace things are a little different than she expected.  I loved this book because it had most of my favorite things:  Princesses (check) Romance (check) An interesting plot (check) A happy ending (check–sorry I hope that didn’t spoil it for everyone).  It doesn’t take much to make me happy, but I loved this book.

0385612664One book that I just read yesterday that I enjoyed a lot was The London Eye Mystery by the late Siobhan Dowd.  I did a mock Newbery discussion on Friday and two of the ladies raved about how awesome this book was, so I had to pick it up (sorry though, not eligible for the Newbery because she is not American).  I loved it because it was set in London and it was very London-y.  Dowd described a lot of placed and I could picture myself there in the city which always makes me happy.  The book itself revolves around a really great mystery, where Ted and Kat’s cousin Salim gets on the London Eye one morning, and then he never gets off…he just disappears.  Ted is the narrartor and he has Aspergers syndrome, and he always mentions how his brain runs on a different operating system than everyone else’s.  But of course, his brain is the only one that is observant enough to figure out what is really going on.  This is a really quick read, and a good straightforward mystery where all the info is there for you to solve it, but of course I totally didn’t figure it out.

I think that one of the reasons why I haven’t been too impressed with the books I have read lately is because I just finished re-reading Twilight, so all I want to really read is New Moon…but of course I didn’t have New Moon and the holds list at the library is ginormous.  So I ordered it from Amazon, but it was taking way too long, so I ran to Target yesterday and bought the last copy they had.  Aaaaaaahhhhh (contented sigh).  I feel so much better now.  I started it last night and am on page 230.  I should work my way through the rest of the series soon and then I will get back to enjoying regular books.

Jen

2 Responses to “Just A Few Quick Recommendations”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay December 8, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    My library list just grew that much longer. Actually, I don’t really have a library list. I just go to the library and try to remember the names of the books you have talked about.

  2. 2 Jill December 13, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    Oh my goodness…until now, when I just wikipedia-ed it to make sure, I’d always believed that Just Ella was a knock-off sequel to Ella Enchanted, and I refused to read it based on principle that Prince Charmont might not be perfect for Ella! Now that I know it is a completely different story, I am free to read it and then Palace of Mirrors — which sounds great and kind of like Sleeping Beauty. 🙂 Hooray, more books to read!


Leave a Reply

